Menu
Open tomorrow at 14:00
The Building
Callie’s building witnessed a rich history. It was built in the 1870s, during the great industrialization process, and it was a machine factory for more than fifty years. Over the course of the the 20th century it was home to a wide assortment of companies before entering into a period of disuse that began in the 1990s and lasted over 20 years. Learn more about the building’s history as well as the renovation process below.
Gustav Wunderwald, Fabrik an der Lindower Strasse, Berlin N, 1927 Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz – Museum Gunzenhauser, property of the Gunzenhauser Foundation. Photo by archive.
Group 3
History of Lindower Straße 20-22
Beginnings: Max Hasse & Comp. machine factory
Triangle
The Max Hasse & Comp. Machine Factory was built in 1871 by August and Max Hasse and was registered as the “Mechanical Engineering Institute for American Machines”. The factory produced a variety of different apparatuses that could standardize production, including milling, riveting and sewing machines based on American innovations of the time. 1870 marked the beginning of the Second Industrial Revolution, or Technological Revolution, and advancements in production were exponential. The 1880s saw electricity come to Berlin: the first lightbulb, powerplant, and electric tram all emerged in a single decade. By 1896, construction began on the the U-Bahn, the underground rail system.
View of a production space in the Lindower Strasse 20-22. Photo by Deutsches Technikmuseum archive.

It was around 1900, after Max Hasse’s death, that his widow Anna Hasse gained ownership over the company.

The following decades saw massive upheaval in Berlin. Wartime Germany saw rationing and low supplies of food, coal, and other essentials. Following the Treaty of Versailles in 1919, Germany entered into a period of economic instability and severe inflation. In 1924, during the Weimar Republic, the fiscal situation began to improve, but many businesses had already suffered irreparably.

In 1929, after years of low profitability, the manufacturing rights of Max Hasse & Comp. were sold to another major Berlin-based machine factory, Niles Werkzeugmaschinen GmbH (liscensee of the American machine tool manufacturer “Niles Tool Works Company” based in Hamilton, Ohio). With this transaction, the machine production in Lindower Strasse 20-22 ceased.

Title page of a product brochure with a milling machine by Max Hasse, year unknown
Wartime Germany: an Economy in Decline
Triangle

It was around 1900, after Max Hasse’s death, that his widow Anna Hasse gained ownership over the company.

The following decades saw massive upheaval in Berlin. Wartime Germany saw rationing and low supplies of food, coal, and other essentials. Following the Treaty of Versailles in 1919, Germany entered into a period of economic instability and severe inflation. In 1924, during the Weimar Republic, the fiscal situation began to improve, but many businesses had already suffered irreparably.

In 1929, after years of low profitability, the manufacturing rights of Max Hasse & Comp. were sold to another major Berlin-based machine factory, Niles Werkzeugmaschinen GmbH (liscensee of the American machine tool manufacturer “Niles Tool Works Company” based in Hamilton, Ohio). With this transaction, the machine production in Lindower Strasse 20-22 ceased.

From the 1930s until the fall of the Berlin Wall
Triangle

A large number of businesses and manufacturers took up residence on the premises of ​​Lindower Strasse 20-22 at the beginning of the 1930s.

One of the first companies to settle into the premises were the household goods manufacturers Graetz & Glückstein. Founded in 1926, the company was expropriated by the Nazis in 1937, as were the majority of Jewish-owned businesses in Berlin.

Entry of the company Bode Panzer in the industry directory for Berlin 1946/47.
In around 1932, the famous Bode-Panzer safe factories took up residence in Lindower Strasse 20-22. Founded in 1858 by Louis Bode and Heinrich Troue in Hannover as the company Bode & Troue, it was the first German factory to produce safes and armoured cash boxes as well as fire and burglar proof steel vaults. In 1924, the company had merged with Panzer AG Berlin, founded in 1898, to form Bode Panzer AG. The previous Panzer AG Berlin had built the vault of the Berlin coin cabinet at the Bode-Museum (formerly Kaiser-Friedrich-Museum) from about 1900 to 1904 and continued to be a leading supplier of safes and vaults in the subsequent decades.
In addition to household goods and safes, Lindower Strasse 20-22 housed a broad assortment of companies over the years. Among them were a button factory, a quartz lamp factory, bookbinders, a liqueur manufacturer, as well as the service clothing manufacturers Tofaute & Gronwald, who later produced the uniforms of the West German Police.
2011-2016: the renovation process
Triangle

After years of interim use—among other things as part of the Mica Moca art project in summer 2011—structural renovation began in 2013. The project was conceptualized by ASA studio albanese, Vicenza/Milano, and overseen by Heim Balp Architekten, Berlin.

A two-story extension was added to the rooftop. Covered in reflective metal cladding, the extension is visible but minimally alters the profile and proportions of the original building; at certain times of day, it reflects the sky and seems to disappear entirely.

The building before renovation. Photo by Nick Ash.

Throughout the renovation process, the brick building retained most of its details; only necessary structural changes were made, such as the addition of reinforced concrete wall supports where the building was no longer sound. All interventions were made evident by the use of simple but functional materials.

Many aspects of the building still correspond to their historical conditions, including the windows on the ground floor, the majority of the walls throughout the building, the freight elevator, as well as many of the cement floors.

While the side staircases were reinforced but left in their original state, the central stairway had to be replaced. The modern concrete intervention provides the public entrance with heightened functionality and safety.

View of the building after the renovation. Photo by Nick Ash.
The building today
Triangle

The light-flooded spaces where machines used to be manufactured now provide room for all forms of artistic practice.

Callie’s has altered very little on the premises. A vertical shaft of unused space on the far side of the building was captured and transformed into three micro-apartments for international and visiting artists.

You can find out more about our current facilities here.

Group 3

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Das Gebäude
Das Gebäude von Callie’s blickt auf eine wechselvolle Geschichte zurück. Es wurde während der großen Industrialisierungsprozesse der 1870er Jahre erbaut und anschließend mehr als fünfzig Jahre lang als Maschinenfabrik genutzt. Im Laufe des 20. Jahrhunderts beherbergte es eine Vielzahl von Unternehmen, bevor es in den 1990er Jahren stillgelegt wurde und in diesem Zustand mehr als 20 Jahre lang verblieb. Im Folgenden haben wir ein paar spannende Informationen zur Geschichte des Gebäudes sowie zum Renovierungsprozess zusammengefasst.
Gustav Wunderwald, Fabrik an der Lindower Straße, Berlin N, 1927 Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz – Museum Gunzenhauser, Eigentum der Stiftung Gunzenhauser. Archivfoto.
Group 3
Die Geschichte der Lindower Straße 20-22
Die Anfänge: Max Hasse & Comp. Maschinenfabrik
Triangle
Die Max Hasse & Comp. Maschinenfabrik wurde 1871 von August und Max Hasse erbaut und als Bauinstitut für amerikanische Maschinen registriert. Die Fabrik produzierte eine Vielzahl verschiedener Apparate, die eine standardisierte Produktion ermöglichen sollten. Darunter waren Fräs-, Niet- und Nähmaschinen, die auf amerikanischen Innovationen der damaligen Zeit basierten. 1870 begann die Zweite industrielle Revolution oder Technologische Revolution, welche die Fortschritte in der Produktion exponentiell steigen ließ. In den 1880er Jahren kam der Strom nach Berlin: Die erste Glühbirne, das erste Kraftwerk und die erste elektrische Straßenbahn entstanden in einem einzigen Jahrzehnt. Im Jahr 1896 begann der Bau der U-Bahn, des unterirdischen Eisenbahnsystems.
Blick in einen der Produktionsräume in der Lindower Straße 20-22. Foto aus dem Archiv des Deutschen Technikmuseums.

Um 1900, nach dem Tod von Max Hasse, wurde seine Witwe Anna Hasse zur Eigentümerin der Maschinenfabrik.

In den folgenden Jahrzehnten kam es in Berlin zu massiven Umwälzungen. In der Kriegszeit wurden in Deutschland Rationierungen veranlasst, die zu Engpässen in der Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln, Kohle und anderen lebensnotwendigen Gütern führten. Nach dem Versailler Vertrag von 1919 trat Deutschland in eine Zeit wirtschaftlicher Instabilität und schwerer Inflation ein. Im Jahr 1924, während der Weimarer Republik, begann sich die Finanzlage zwar zu verbessern, aber viele Unternehmen waren bereits irreparabel geschädigt.

Nach Jahren geringer Profitabilität wurden 1929 die Produktionsrechte der Firma Max Hasse & Comp. an einen anderen, großen Berliner Maschinenhersteller, die Niles Werkzeugmaschinen GmbH (ein Lizenznehmer des amerikanischen Werkzeugmaschinenherstellers „Niles Tool Works Company“ mit Sitz in Hamilton, Ohio), verkauft. Infolge dieser Transaktion wurde die Maschinenproduktion in der Lindower Straße 20-22 eingestellt.

Titelseite einer Produktbroschüre mit einer Fräsmaschine von Max Hasse, Jahr unbekannt.
Von den 1930er Jahren bis zum Fall der Berliner Mauer
Triangle

Anfang der 1930er Jahre siedelten sich in den Räumlichkeiten in der Lindower Straße 20-22 eine Vielzahl von Unternehmen und Herstellern an.

Eine der ersten Firmen, die sich in den Räumen ansiedelte, waren die Haushaltswarenhersteller Graetz & Glückstein. Das 1926 gegründete Unternehmen wurde 1937 von den nationalsozialistischen Machthaber:innen enteignet, ebenso wie die Mehrzahl der jüdischen Betriebe in Berlin.

Eintragung der Firma Bode Panzer im Branchen-Adressbuch für Berlin 1946/47.
Um 1932 siedelte sich in der Lindower Straße 20-22 die berühmte Bode-Panzer-Tresorfabrik an. Sie wurde 1858 von Louis Bode und Heinrich Troue in Hannover als Firma Bode & Troue gegründet und war die erste deutsche Fabrik, die Tresore und Panzerkassetten sowie feuer- und einbruchsichere Stahltresore herstellte. Im Jahr 1924 hatte sich das Unternehmen mit der 1898 gegründeten Panzer AG Berlin zur Bode Panzer AG zusammengeschlossen. Die damalige Panzer AG Berlin hatte von etwa 1900 bis 1904 den Tresor des Berliner Münzkabinetts im Bode-Museum (ehemals Kaiser-Friedrich-Museum) gebaut und stieg in den folgenden Jahrzehnten zu einer führenden Anbieterin von Wertschutzschränken auf.
Neben Haushaltswaren und Tresoren beherbergte die Lindower Straße 20-22 im Laufe der Jahre eine breite Firmenpräsenz. Darunter befanden sich eine Knopffabrik, eine Quarzlampenfabrik, Buchbindereien, ein Likörhersteller sowie die Dienstbekleidungsfirma Tofaute & Gronwald, die später die Uniformen der westdeutschen Polizei produzierte.
2011-2016: der Renovierungsprozess
Triangle

Nach mehreren Jahren der Zwischennutzung – unter anderem im Rahmen des Kunstprojekts Mica Moca im Sommer 2011 – begann 2013 die strukturelle Renovierung des Komplexes an der Lindower Straße. Das Projekt wurde von ASA studio albanese, Vicenza/Milano, konzipiert und von Heim Balp Architekten, Berlin, betreut.

Das Dach wurde um einen zweistöckigen Anbau erweitert, der mit einer reflektierenden Metallverkleidung zwar deutlich sichtbar ist, aber nur minimal das Profil und die Proportionen des ursprünglichen Gebäudes verändert – zu bestimmten Tageszeiten reflektiert er den Himmel oder scheint gar ganz zu verschwinden.

Das Gebäude vor der Renovierung. Foto von Nick Ash.

Während des gesamten Renovierungsprozesses behielt das Backsteingebäude die meisten seiner Details bei; es wurden nur notwendige bauliche Veränderungen vorgenommen, darunter das Hinzufügen von Stahlbetonwandstützen an nicht mehr tragfähigen Stellen des Gebäudes. Alle Eingriffe in die historische Struktur wurden durch die Verwendung einfacher, aber funktioneller Materialien deutlich gemacht.

Viele Aspekte des Gebäudes entsprechen noch immer ihren historischen Ursprungsformen, darunter die Fenster im Erdgeschoss, der Großteil der Wände im gesamten Gebäude, der Lastenaufzug sowie viele der Zementböden.

Während die Seitentreppen verstärkt, sonst jedoch im ursprünglichen Zustand belassen wurden, musste die zentrale Treppe ersetzt werden. Die moderne Betonintervention verleiht dem Haupteingang eine bessere Funktionalität und Sicherheit.

Blick auf das Gebäude nach der Renovierung. Foto von Nick Ash.
Das Gebäude heute
Triangle

Die lichtdurchfluteten Räume, in denen früher Maschinen hergestellt wurden, bieten heute Raum für alle Formen künstlerischer Praxis.

Callie’s hat die Räumlichkeiten kaum verändert. Ein vertikaler Schacht mit ungenutztem Freiraum auf der Außenseite des Gebäudes wurde eingefangen und in drei Micro-Apartments für internationale Gastkünstler:innen umgewandelt.

Mehr Informationen zu unseren Räumlichkeiten gibt es hier.

Group 3