Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Real Madrid
Real Madrid, founded in Geneva, 2015.

Real Madrid is an artist duo founded in Geneva in 2015. Real Madrid’s ethos embraces the spirit of bootlegs and knock-offs: the project brands itself as “a marketable counterfeit commodity.” The subversion of normative modes of authorship begins with their name, which is a playful appropriation of the highly lucrative Spanish football team. Within their practice, Real Madrid deftly employs various types of media to critique dominant culture with humor and irony.

For the 2019 group exhibition United by AIDS at the Migros Museum in Zurich, Real Madrid obliquely commemorated analog modes of sexual development and identification. The installation IT’S MY PARTY AND I’LL DIE IF I WANT TO (2019) abstracts the form of a sidewalk kiosk. The mise en scène unfolds through a series of sculptural allusions and clues, from Cadbury’s “Time Out” chocolate bars to an empty magazine stand; together, the elements invoke a palpable sense of loss. According to the artists: “which adolescent never stood in front of that corner where the erotic magazines are?” In a bifurcated world increasingly mediated by screens, memorializing these spaces speaks to more than nostalgia. Real Madrid creates a scenography of contemporary dispossession and the loss of innocence in the face of late-stage capitalism. By employing familiar aesthetics, the artists invite a sense of intimacy that foregrounds the collective experience.

While in residence at Callie’s, Real Madrid prepared the exhibition Postoristoro, which opened in May 2021 at the Centre Culturel Suisse (CCS) in Paris.

The artist duo Real Madrid was founded in 2015 in Geneva. Their work has been exhibited in private and public institutions such as Quadriennale Roma, GAK (Bremen), Migros Museum (Zurich), Auto Italia South East (London), ICA Milano, Centre d’Art Contemporaine Geneva, Plymouth Rock (Zurich), Truth and Consequences (Geneva), Les Urbaines (Lausanne). Soon they will exhibit at the Centre d'édition Contemporaine in Geneva and Swiss Institute in New York (2022). In 2018 they were artists in residence at FAAP Sao Paulo and ProHelvetia Johannesburg, and in 2017 at Goethe Institute Vila Itororò (Sao Paulo). They received a Swiss Art Award in 2018 and are nominated for the 2021 edition, and were finalists for the BNP Paribas Prize in 2017. In 2020 they were residents fellows of the Instituto Svizzero in Rome, and in May 2021 they opened a solo exhibition at CCS in Paris. Real Madrid live and work between Geneva and Berlin.

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Real Madrid
Real Madrid, gegründet in Genf, Schweiz, 2015.

Das Künstler:innenduo Real Madrid wurde 2015 in Genf gegründet. Ihr Ethos greift den Charakter von Plagiaten und Fälschungen auf: Real Madrid bezeichnet sich selbst als „vermarktungsfähiges gefälschtes Produkt“. Die Subversion gängiger Formen von Autor:innenschaft beginnt mit ihrem Namen, der eine spielerische Aneignung des spanischen Luxusfußballteams darstellt. Innerhalb ihrer Praxis setzt Real Madrid geschickt verschiedene Medien ein, um die vorherrschende Leitkultur mit Humor und Ironie zu kritisieren.

Für die Gruppenausstellung United by AIDS 2019 im Migros Museum in Zürich gedachte Real Madrid auf indirekte Weise analoger Formen sexueller Entwicklung und Identifikation. Die Installation IT’S MY PARTY AND I’LL DIE IF I WANT TO (2019) abstrahiert die Form eines Straßenkiosks. Die Kulisse entfaltet sich durch eine Reihe von skulpturalen Anspielungen und Hinweisen: Von Cadbury’s „Time Out“-Schokoriegeln bis hin zu einem leeren Zeitschriftenständer, rufen die Elemente der Installation ein Gefühl von Verlust hervor. Nach Aussage der Künstler:innen: „Welche:r Jugendliche hat nicht einmal in der Ecke gestanden, in der die Erotikmagazine ausliegen?“ In einer gespaltenen Welt, die zunehmend von Bildschirmen geprägt ist, ruft die Erinnerung an diese Orte mehr als nur Nostalgie hervor. Real Madrid schafft eine Szenografie der zeitgenössischen Enteignung und des Unschuldverlusts im Angesicht einer spätkapitalistischen Realität. Durch die Verwendung einer vertrauten Ästhetik erzeugen die Künstler:innen ein Gefühl von Intimität, das kollektive Erfahrung in den Vordergrund rückt.

Während ihres Aufenthalts bei Callie’s bereiteten Real Madrid die Ausstellung Postoristoro vor, die im Mai 2021 im Centre Culturel Suisse (CCS) in Paris eröffnet wurde.

Das Künstler:innenduo Real Madrid wurde 2015 in Genf gegründet. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in privaten und öffentlichen Institutionen wie der Quadriennale Roma, GAK (Bremen), Migros Museum (Zürich), Auto Italia South East (London), ICA Milano, Centre d'Art Contemporaine Genf, Plymouth Rock (Zürich), Truth and Consequences (Genf) und Les Urbaines (Lausanne) gezeigt. Demnächst werden sie im Centre d'édition Contemporaine in Genf und im Swiss Institute in New York ausstellen (2022). 2018 waren Real Madrid Residents an der FAAP Sao Paulo und ProHelvetia Johannesburg sowie 2017 am Goethe Institut Vila Itororò (Sao Paulo). Sie erhielten 2018 einen Swiss Art Award und sind für die Edition 2021 nominiert. 2017 waren sie Finalist:innen für den BNP Paribas Prize. 2020 waren sie Resident Fellows des Istituto Svizzero in Rom und werden im Mai 2021 eine Einzelausstellung im CCS in Paris eröffnen. Real Madrid leben und arbeiten zwischen Genf und Berlin.