Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Ligia Lewis
Born 1983 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; lives and works in Los Angeles and Berlin.

Ligia Lewis is a choreographer and dancer whose genre-defying works have thrust dance into the realm of contemporary art, and vice versa. If, as theorist Bojana Kunst posits, dance allows us to “challenge the ways in which bodies assemble and participate,” Lewis’ oeuvre offers a compelling response. Her practice, broadly speaking, engages with affect and embodiment, exploring the ways in which our bodies record and resist dominance. Recognizing that polarities are often inextricably intertwined, Lewis works chart the entanglement between the utopic and dystopic. Across her practice, Lewis is building what she describes as a “fugitive choreography,” challenging performance to animate the psychic dimensions of being and movement.

Lewis spent five years—from 2014 to 2018—composing a widely-lauded trilogy comprised of Sorrow Swag (2014); minor matter (2016); and Water Will (in Melody) (2018). Each work took on a hue of the American flag, beginning with blue, continuing with red, and ending with white. Water Will (in Melody) was created at Callie’s between July and December of 2018, and uses the Brothers Grimm tale “The Willful Child” to explore ideas of strength, agency and desire. By borrowing from the tradition of mime, Lewis’ choreography captures the alienation of subjective realities, calling into question the assumption of reality itself. Water Will uses the genre of melodrama to explore racialized and gendered readings of extreme, unchecked emotions. The trilogy as a whole exhibits Lewis’ unique ability to transform her subject matter into a visceral experience—ultimately confronting an audience with what Catherine Damman writes is “distinctively, brutally American”.

Lewis has collaborated with musical artist Twin Shadow, visual artist Wu Tsang, and with the DJ collective NON Worldwide. Lewis is the recipient of a Foundation for Contemporary Arts Grants Award (2018) and a Bessie Award for Outstanding Production for minor matter (2017). She was a visiting artist and professor in the Alma M. Hawkins Memorial Chair at UCLA’s World Arts and Cultures Department in 2019.

Ligia Lewis was born in 1983 in Santo Domingo, in the Dominican Republic. Her recent performance trilogy includes Water Will (in Melody) (2018); minor matter (2016); and Sorrow Swag (2014). Her other works include: Sensation 1/This Interior (High Line Commission, 2019); so something happened, get over it; no, nothing happened, get with it (Jaou Tunis, 2018); Melancholy: A White Mellow Drama (Flax Fahrenheit, Palais de Tokyo, 2015); $$$ (Tanz im August, 2012); and Sensation 1 (sommer.bar, Tanz im August, 2011 and Basel Liste, 2014). Lewis’ stage works are managed and produced, in part, by HAU Hebbel am Ufer Theater. Her work has been presented in multiple venues and is touring internationally. Lewis lives and works between Los Angeles and Berlin.

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Ligia Lewis
Geboren 1983 in Santo Domingo, Dominikanische Republik; lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles und Berlin.

Ligia Lewis ist eine Choreografin und Tänzerin, deren genre-definierende Werke Tanz in den Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst überführen und umgekehrt. Wenn, wie die Theoretikerin Bojana Kunst behauptet, Tanz es uns erlaubt, “die Möglichkeiten herauszufordern, auf welche Weisen sich Körper versammeln und partizipieren„, dann bietet Lewis’ Werk eine überzeugende Antwort. Im weitesten Sinne beschäftigt sich ihre Praxis mit Affekt und Verkörperung – sie erforscht die Art und Weise, in der unsere Körper Dominanz aufzeichnen und sich ihr widersetzen. Im Rahmen der Erkenntnis, dass Polaritäten oft untrennbar miteinander verbunden sind, zeichnet Lewis in ihren Arbeiten die Verstrickung zwischen dem Utopischen und dem Dystopischen auf. In ihrer gesamten Praxis baut sie das auf, was sie als “flüchtige Choreographie" beschreibt, eine herausfordernde Performance, die die psychischen Dimensionen des Seins und der körperlichen Bewegung belebt.

Lewis verbrachte fünf Jahre – von 2014 bis 2018 – damit, eine viel gelobte Trilogie zu komponieren, welche die Werke Sorrow Swag (2014), minor matter (2016) und Water Will (in Melodie) (2018) umfasst. Jedes der drei Kapitel griff einen Farbton der amerikanischen Flagge auf, begann mit Blau, folgte mit Rot und endete mit Weiß. Water Will (in Melody), bei Callie’s zwischen Juli und Dezember 2018 konzipiert, bedient sich der Brüder-Grimm-Erzählung Das eigensinnige Kind, um Ideen von Stärke, Handlungsfähigkeit und Verlangen zu erforschen. In Anlehnung an die Tradition der Pantomime fängt Lewis’ Choreographie die Entfremdung subjektiver Realitäten ein und stellt die Annahme von Realität selbst in Frage. Water Will erforscht mithilfe des Melodrama-Genres rassistische und geschlechtsspezifische Lesarten extremer, unkontrollierter Emotionen. Die Trilogie als Ganzes zeigt Lewis’ einzigartige Fähigkeit, die Themen ihrer Auseinandersetzungen in eine viszerale Erfahrung zu verwandeln – und konfrontiert das Publikum letztlich mit dem, was Catherine Damman als „unverwechselbar, brutal amerikanisch “ bezeichnet.

Lewis hat bereits mit der Musikkünstlerin Twin Shadow, der bildenden Künstlerin Wu Tsang sowie mit dem DJ-Kollektiv NON Worldwide zusammengearbeitet. Sie ist Preisträgerin des Foundation for Contemporary Arts Grants Award (2018) sowie des Bessie Award for Outstanding Production für minor matter (2017). Im Jahr 2019 war sie Gastkünstlerin und Professorin am Alma M. Hawkins Memorial Chair in der Abteilung World Arts and Cultures der UCLA. Ihr Werk ist Teil der „Made in L.A.“-Biennale am Armand Hammer Museum, Los Angeles des Jahres 2020.

Ligia Lewis wurde 1983 in Santo Domingo in der Dominikanischen Republik geboren. Ihre jüngste Performance-Trilogie umfasst Water Will (in Melody) (2018), minor matter (2016) und Sorrow Swag (2014). Zu ihren weiteren Werken gehören: Sensation 1/This Interior (High Line Commission, 2019); so something happened, get over it; no, nothing happened, get with it (Jaou Tunis, 2018); Melancholy: A White Mellow Drama (Flax Fahrenheit, Palais de Tokyo, 2015); $$$ (Tanz im August, 2012); und Sensation 1 (sommer.bar, Tanz im August, 2011 und Basel Liste, 2014). Lewis’ Bühnenwerke werden unter anderem von HAU Hebbel am Ufer betreut und produziert. Ihre Arbeiten waren an mehreren Spielstätten zu sehen und touren weltweit. Lewis lebt und arbeitet zwischen Los Angeles und Berlin.