Menu
temporarily closed
[
EN
]
/ de
Mouse on Mars

Musicians Jan St. Werner and Andi Toma are the pioneering electronic duo Mouse on Mars. Regarded as one of Germany’s most influential musical projects, Mouse on Mars has released eleven albums to date and has its roots in an enduring friendship between the two artists. Auspiciously born on the same day and in the same hospital, St. Werner and Toma take a highly collaborative approach to experimentation.

Mouse on Mars’ debut studio album Vulvaland was released in 1994 and was described by critic Sean Cooper as an “ambient texturology with experimental strains of Electroacoustic Music, Dub, Techno and Krautrock.” Over the past nearly three decades, the duo has explored and synthesized numerous transformations in technology, and their inimitable style has been shaped by eclecticism and innovation. As St. Werner said in an interview with Fact Magazine, “The interesting aspects of art are about the questions you pose, the perspectives you offer, rather than the genre you choose to belong to.”

Collaboration factors heavily into the group’s practice. In 2007 they joined forces with The Fall’s Mark E. Smith and, under the moniker Von Südenfed, they released Tromatic Reflexxions, “a futurist, neo-punk-funk workout.” Mouse on Mars’ 2018 release, Dimensional People, featured a cast of accomplices including Justin Vernon (a.k.a. Bon Iver), members of the American rock band The National, soul musician Swamp Dogg, rapper Spank Rock, Zach Condon of the band Beirut, Australian electropop group Parcels, and Irish musician and composer Lisa Hannigan. The album was released at a symposium at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where St. Werner lectured in the department of Arts, Culture and Technology. In 2020, they embarked on a collaboration with legendary dub pioneer Lee “Scratch” Perry, the results of which are forthcoming. They will release their new album, AAI, in February 2021.

As artists-in-residence at Callie’s, Mouse on Mars is preparing a sound installation Spatial Jitter for Kunstbau at Munich’s Lenbachhaus opening in June 2021.

Vulvaland (1994), Iaora Tahiti (1995), Autoditacker (1997), Instrumentals (1997), Glam (1998), Niun Niggung (1999 / 2000), Idiology (2001), Radical Connector (2004), Varcharz (2006), Parastrophics (2012), Dimensional People (2018). Their upcoming album, AAI, will be released in February 2021 on Thrill Jockey.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Mouse on Mars

Die Musiker Jan St. Werner und Andi Toma bilden das richtungsweisende Elektronik-Duo Mouse on Mars. Bis heute hat Mouse on Mars, das als eines der einflussreichsten Musikprojekte Deutschlands gilt und in einer langjährigen Freundschaft zwischen den beiden Künstlern wurzelt, elf Alben veröffentlicht. Für St. Werner und Toma, die am selben Tag und im selben Krankenhaus geboren wurden, bildet Kollaboration den Kern ihrer experimentellen Praxis.

Mouse on Mars’ Debüt-Studioalbum Vulvaland erschien 1994 und wurde vom Kritiker Sean Cooper als “Ambient-Texturologie mit experimentellen Einflüssen von elektroakustischer Musik, Dub, Techno und Krautrock” beschrieben. In den vergangenen bald drei Jahrzehnten hat das Duo zahlreiche technologische Transformationen erforscht und synthetisiert. Ihr unnachahmlicher Stil ist durch einem Mix von Eklektizismus und Innovation geprägt. Wie St. Werner in einem Interview mit Fact Magazine sagte: “Das Interessante an der Kunst sind die Fragen, die man stellt und die Perspektiven, die man bietet, nicht das Genre, dem man sich zuordnet.”

Kollaboration spielt in der Praxis des Duos eine zentrale Rolle. 2007 taten sie sich etwa mit Mark E. Smith von The Fall zusammen und veröffentlichten unter dem Namen Von Südenfed das Album Tromatic Reflexxions, „ein futuristisches Neo-Punk-Funk-Workout.“ Auf Mouse on Mars’ 2018 erschienenem Album Dimensional People wirkten unter anderem Justin Vernon (alias Bon Iver), Mitglieder der amerikanischen Rockband The National, der Soulmusiker Swamp Dogg, Rapper Spank Rock, Zach Condon von der Band Beirut, die australische Elektropop-Gruppe Parcels und die irische Musikerin und Komponistin Lisa Hannigan mit. Das Album wurde im Rahmen eines Symposiums am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) veröffentlicht, wo St. Werner in der Abteilung für Kunst, Kultur und Technologie lehrte. Im Jahr 2020 begannen sie eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem legendären Dub-Pionier Lee „Scratch“ Perry, deren Ergebnisse in Kürze veröffentlicht werden. Ihr neues Album AAI kommt im Februar 2021 heraus.

Als Artists-in-Residence bei Callie’s bereiten Mouse on Mars eine Klanginstallation für ihre Ausstellung Spatial Jitter vor die im Juni 2021 im Kunstbau des Münchner Lenbachhauses eröffnen wird.

Vulvaland (1994), Iaora Tahiti (1995), Autoditacker (1997), Instrumentals (1997), Glam (1998), Niun Niggung (1999 / 2000), Idiology (2001), Radical Connector (2004), Varcharz (2006), Parastrophics (2012), Dimensional People (2018). Ihr kommendes Album, AAI, wird im Februar 2021 auf Thrill Jockey veröffentlicht.