Menu
Open Thursday at 14:00
Isabel Lewis
Born 1981 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic; lives and works in Berlin.

Trained in dance, literary criticism, and philosophy, artist Isabel Lewis creates works that resist classification, affirming pleasure, connection and permeability. Lewis began her professional career in the world of contemporary dance in 2003. The formal constraints of the proscenium and its relationship to the audience motivated her to begin showing work in alternative spaces such as bars, living rooms, and gardens—all places where she could interact directly with the public. In 2012 she was invited to deliver a lecture performance for the Serpentine Galleries Memory Marathon on one of her main research topics: social dances as storage systems for cultural memory. This marks the moment Lewis’ work was first introduced to the contemporary art context, which immediately embraced her experimentations with format. In this new context, Lewis could blur and break boundaries between the performer and the public; rethinking and remodeling institutional protocols around notions of exhibition and performance became central to her practice.

Broadly speaking, Lewis is interested in creating multi-sensory experiences, collapsing formal boundaries, and centering collectivity. Her preferred terminology for many of her works is “occasions”: immersive social gatherings that might encompass choreography, performance, installations, workshops, or tea ceremonies. “When I am composing, I think about addressing all of the senses. I sculpt the work on multiple sensory levels, including vision of course but by directly addressing and highlighting the other senses I try to check the power of vision.” Lewis’ energy and her careful attunement to her guests contribute to the generosity of her social artworks, which simultaneously challenge and nurture—offering, without demanding in return.

Lewis employs an expanded sense of the choreographic; she generates affective bodily experiences that address all of the senses in her inherently collaborative practice. Lewis maintains long-standing collaborations with smell researcher and artist Sissel Tolaas, Berlin-based sonic entity LABOUR, painter and ceramicist Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, visual artist Dirk Bell, theorist and classics scholar Brooke Holmes, clothing designer Yolanda Zobel and creative producer Marcelo Alcaide. In a recent occasion at Gropius Bau, Lewis presented a new choreographic work. Taking up the dramaturgical structure of Hieronymus Bosch’s famous triptych, Garden of Earthly Delights, Expanded Viewing I + II (Garden of Earthly Delights) beckoned visitors through a series of empty gallery spaces, one of which displayed Bosch’s infamous painting. Choreography by Lewis, musical performances by LABOUR, as well as smells created by Tolaas came together, and the nearly-empty museum became a passage for the awakening of the senses.

During her time at Callie’s, Lewis has conceptualized a number of occasions and exhibitions, including Untitled (Inwardness, Juice, Natures), a monumental commission for the 14th Sharjah Biennial in 2019. Most recently she organized Scalable Skeletal Escalator an exhibition and live artwork that opens in September 2020 at Kunsthalle Zurich. Lewis has described her choreographic practice as one that “often combines discursive, social, and presentational modalities.” This is further evident in the way she inhabits her residency at Callie’s: Lewis hosts monthly “broths” with Dirk Bell in which residents and invited guests are given the opportunity to engage with one another over wine, soup and selected listening material. She frequently invites artists, musicians, and collaborators to her studio for conversation and engagement. In her art as in life, Lewis’ logic is rooted in reciprocity and exchange.

Isabel Lewis was born in 1981 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. Her work has been presented at Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève; Kunsthalle Basel; Frieze London; Liverpool Biennial; the Institute of Contemporary Arts London (ICA); Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Turin; Tanz im August Berlin; Göteborg International Biennial for Contemporary Art; Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Tate Modern London; Martin Gropius Bau, Berlin; and Ming Contemporary Art Museum Shanghai. Lewis’ exhibition Scalable Skeletal Escalator opens at Kunsthalle Zurich in September 2020.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Isabel Lewis
Geboren 1981 in Santo Domingo, Dominikanische Republik; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Ausgebildet in Tanz, Literaturkritik und Philosophie, schafft die Künstlerin Isabel Lewis Werke, die sich durch die Affirmation von Genuss, Zusammengehörigkeit und Permeabilität jeder Klassifizierung widersetzen. Lewis begann ihre professionelle Karriere in der Welt des zeitgenössischen Tanzes im Jahr 2003. Die formalen Zwänge des Bühnenraums und dessen Beziehung zum Publikum motivierten sie, ihre Arbeiten an alternativen Orten wie in Bars, Wohnzimmern und Gärten zu zeigen – Räume, in denen sie direkt mit dem Publikum interagieren konnte. Im Jahr 2012 wurde sie eingeladen, eine Lecture Performance für den Serpentine Galleries Memory Marathon zu einem ihrer Forschungsschwerpunkte zu halten: soziale Tänze als Speichersysteme für das kulturelle Gedächtnis. Diese Einladung markiert den Eintritt von Lewis’ Schaffen in den zeitgenössischen Kunstkontext, wo ihre Experimente mit kategorischen Formaten sofort begrüßt wurden. In diesem neuen Kontext konnte Lewis die Grenzen zwischen Performer:in und Publikum aufweichen und durchbrechen; das Überdenken und Umgestalten institutioneller Protokolle rund um die Begriffe Ausstellung und Performance rückte in den Mittelpunkt ihrer Praxis.

Im Wesentlichen ist Lewis daran interessiert, multisensorische Erfahrungen zu schaffen, formale Grenzen zu durchbrechen und kollektives Erleben zu stärken. Ihre bevorzugte Terminologie für viele ihrer Werke ist „occasions“: immersive soziale Zusammenkünfte, die Choreografien, Performances, Installationen, Workshops oder Teezeremonien umfassen können. “Wenn ich komponiere, denke ich daran, alle Sinne anzusprechen. Ich forme das Werk auf mehreren Sinnesebenen, einschließlich des Sehens natürlich, aber indem ich die anderen Sinne direkt anspreche und hervorhebe, versuche ich, die Kraft des Sehens zu hinterfragen.” Lewis’ Schaffenskraft und ihre sorgfältige Aufmerksamkeit ihren Gästen gegenüber tragen zur Großzügigkeit ihrer sozialen Kunstwerke bei, die gleichzeitig herausfordern und nähren – anbieten, ohne eine Gegenleistung zu verlangen.

Lewis setzt in ihren Arbeiten einen erweiterten Begriff des Choreografischen ein und erzeugt affektive Körpererfahrungen, die alle Sinne in ihrer von Natur aus kollaborativen Praxis ansprechen. So arbeitet Lewis seit langem mit der Geruchsforscherin und Künstlerin Sissel Tolaas, den Berliner Klangkünstler:innen LABOUR, dem Maler und Keramiker Matthew Lutz-Kinoy, dem bildenden Künstler Dirk Bell, der Theoretikerin und Klassikforscherin Brooke Holmes, der Modedesignerin Yolanda Zobel und dem Creative Producer Marcelo Alcaide zusammen. Vor kurzem stellte Lewis im Gropius Bau ein neues choreografisches Werk vor. Expanded Viewing I + II (Der Garten der Lüste) griff die dramaturgische Struktur von Hieronymus Boschs berühmtem Triptychon Der Garten der Lüste auf und leitete die Besucher:innen durch eine Reihe leerer Ausstellungsräume, an deren Ende das berüchtigte Gemälde von Bosch zu sehen war. Choreographien von Lewis, musikalische Darbietungen von LABOUR sowie von Tolaas kreierte Gerüche trafen aufeinander und das fast leere Museum wurde zum Ort der sinnlichen Erfahrung.

Während ihrer Zeit bei Callie’s konzipierte Lewis eine Reihe von “occasions” und Ausstellungen, darunter Untitled (Inwardness, Juice, Natures), ein monumentales Auftragswerk für die 14. Sharjah Biennale 2019. Zuletzt organisierte sie Scalable Skeletal Escalator, Ausstellung und Live-Kunstwerk zugleich, welches im September 2020 in der Kunsthalle Zürich gezeigt wurde. Lewis beschreibt ihre choreografische Praxis als eine, die „oft diskursive, soziale und Präsentationsmodalitäten kombiniert“. Dies zeigt sich auch in der Art und Weise, wie sie ihre Residency bei Callie’s gestaltet: Lewis veranstaltet gemeinsam mit Dirk Bell monatliche „broths“, in denen Residents und geladene Gäste bei Wein, Suppe und ausgewähltem Soundmaterial die Gelegenheit haben, miteinander ins Gespräch zu kommen. Auch lädt sie häufig Künstler:innen, Musiker:innen und Kollaborateur:innen für Gespräche und Diskurs in ihr Atelier ein. In ihrer Kunst wie im Leben ist Lewis’ Logik in Gegenseitigkeit und Austausch verwurzelt.

Isabel Lewis wurde 1981 in Santo Domingo, Dominikanische Republik, geboren. Ihre Arbeiten wurden am Centre d'Art Contemporain Genève, der Kunsthalle Basel, der Frieze London, der Liverpool Biennale, dem Institute of Contemporary Arts London (ICA), der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Turin, Tanz im August Berlin, der Göteborg International Biennial for Contemporary Art, dem Palais de Tokyo, Paris, der Tate Modern London, dem Martin Gropius Bau, Berlin und dem Ming Contemporary Art Museum Shanghai präsentiert. Lewis’ Ausstellung Scalable Skeletal Escalator wurde im September 2020 in der Kunsthalle Zürich eröffnet.