Menu
Temporarily closed
[
EN
]
/ de
Jakob Kudsk Steensen
Born 1987 in Koge, Denmark; lives and works between New York and Berlin.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen’s research-based practice utilizes digital technology to address feelings of anxiety and dissonance brought upon by rapid environmental and technological change. The Danish-born artist collaborates with biologists, researchers, and cross-disciplinary artists to create “slow media,” a process involving extensive durational fieldwork. Eschewing didacticism, Kudsk Steensen’s practice centers on sensorial experience, often weaving 3D animation with sound recordings and speculative narratives. These simulations allow viewers to experience often overlooked natural phenomena.

For his installation RE-ANIMATED (2018-19), Kudsk Steensen digitally reconstructed the extinct Kaua’i ‘ō’ō bird and its environment using virtual reality. The artist first encountered the bird on YouTube: a user had uploaded a recording of the Hawaiian bird’s very unique mating call and received over half-a-million views. This introduction launched an extensive research process that began at New York’s Museum of Natural History, an institution that collected the Kaua’i ‘ō’ō bird in the 1800s. Kudsk Steensen explored all of the Museum’s related holdings, from the actual feathers to archives of local flora, and then traveled to Kauai to capture the natural landscape. Kudsk Steesen and his collaborators synthesized these various forms of research materials to animate the bird and its habitat as accurately as possible in virtual reality. Kudsk Steensen’s complex and often laborious process becomes obscured by the visceral immediacy of the final work. At a 2020 lecture on Eco Grief, critical theorist Judith Butler noted that mourning is instructive: it tells us what we value and what we’re connected to. Kudsk Steensen’s work records grief whilst simultaneously enacting the utopian promise of art and technology, leading an audience through a lost world and ultimately reckoning with the possibility of reorienting our relationship to nature through technology.

During his time at Callie’s, Kudsk Steensen will be working on a collaborative project with the Naturkunde Museum and Light Art Space (LAS) to be exhibited at Berghain during summer 2021. The large-scale installation will combine 3D-animated amphibians and insects from the areas surrounding Berlin with reanimated extinct species from the Naturkunde Museum archives. Kudsk Steensen hopes to situate the viewer in an altered temporality: a constellation of the past and future tied together through the artist’s delicate logic, steeped in poetry, natural history, field biology, and digital technology.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen was born in 1987 in Koge, Denmark. He received a Masters in Fine Art from Central Saint Martins, London, and a Masters in Art History from Copenhagen University. Kudsk Steensen has exhibited internationally at the 5th Trondheim Biennale for Art and Technology, the Carnegie Museum of Art, GUEST, GHOST, HOST: MACHINE! Marathon, Serpentine Galleries, Jepson Center for the Arts, Time Square Midnight Moment, MAXXI Rome, FRIEZE London, Podium, and Ok Corral. He was shortlisted for the Future Generation Art Prize at the 2019 Venice Biennale and has received awards from the Danish Arts Foundation, The Augustinus Foundation, and The Lumen Prize for Art and Technology. His work has been shown at Sundance, TriBeCa, and Cannes, among other film festivals. Steensen is an alumnus of NEW INC, a technology and culture incubator by The NEW MUSEUM, in NYC, and recently completed a residency at Luma Arles in France. He lives and works in New York and Berlin.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Jakob Kudsk Steensen
Geboren 1987 in Koge, Dänemark; lebt und arbeitet in New York und Berlin.

Jakob Kudsk Steensens forschungsbasierte Praxis nutzt digitale Technologien, um die durch den rapiden ökologischen und technologischen Wandel hervorgerufen Gefühle von Angst und Dissonanz zu adressieren. Der in Dänemark geborene Künstler arbeitet mit Biolog:innen, Forscher:innen und interdisziplinären Künstler:innen zusammen, um „langsame Medien“ zu entwickeln, ein Prozess, der ausgedehnte Feldforschung erfordert. Dabei verzichtet Kudsk Steensen auf Didaktik und konzentriert sich auf die sensorische Erfahrung, indem er 3D-Animationen mit Tonaufnahmen und spekulativen Erzählungen verwebt. Diese Simulationen ermöglichen es den Betrachter:innen, oft übersehene Naturphänomene zu erleben.

Für seine Installation RE-ANIMATED (2018-19) hat Kudsk Steensen den ausgestorbenen Kaua'i ‘ō'ō-Vogel und seine Umgebung mithilfe von Virtual Reality digital rekonstruiert. Der Künstler begegnete dem Vogel zum ersten Mal auf YouTube: Ein User hatte eine Aufnahme des außergewöhnlichen Balzrufs dieses hawaiianischen Vogels hochgeladen, woraufhin das Video über eine halbe Million Aufrufe erhielt. So fing ein umfangreicher Forschungsprozess an, der im New Yorker Museum of Natural History begann, einer Institution, die den Kaua'i 'ō'ō-Vogel in den 1800er Jahren erforschte. Kudsk Steensen recherchierte alle mit dem Vogel zusammenhängenden Bestände des Museums, von dessen echten Federn bis hin zu Archiven der lokalen Flora, und reiste anschließend nach Kauai, um die natürliche Landschaft zu erfassen. Gemeinsam mit seinen Mitarbeiter:innen fügte der Künstler die verschiedenen Forschungsmaterialien zusammen, um den Vogel und seinen Lebensraum so genau wie möglich virtuell zu animieren. Im finalen Werk verdrängt die viszerale Unmittelbarkeit allerdings den zugrundeliegenden, komplexen und oft mühsamen Prozess. Die Theoretikerin Judith Butler merkte 2020 bei einem Vortrag über Eco Grief an, dass Trauer lehrreich ist: Trauer sagt uns, was wir schätzen und womit wir verbunden sind. Kudsk Steensens Arbeit hält Trauer fest, während sie gleichzeitig das utopische Versprechen von Kunst und Technologie umsetzt. Seine Arbeiten führen das Publikum durch eine nicht mehr existierende Welt und stellen letztlich die Möglichkeit in Aussicht, unsere Beziehung zur Natur durch Technologie neu zu gestalten.

Während seiner Zeit bei Callie’s wird Kudsk Steensen an einem gemeinsamen Projekt mit dem Museum für Naturkunde und Light Art Space (LAS) arbeiten, das im Sommer 2021 im Berliner Club Berghain ausgestellt werden wird. Die groß angelegte Installation wird 3D-animierte Amphibien und Insekten aus dem Berliner Umland mit reanimierten, ausgestorbenen Arten aus den Archiven des Museums für Naturkunde zusammenbringen. Kudsk Steensen hofft, die Betrachter:innen so in eine veränderte Zeitlichkeit zu versetzen: Eine Verflechtung von Vergangenheit und Zukunft, verbunden durch die feinsinnige Logik des Künstlers und von Poesie, Naturgeschichte, Feldforschung und digitaler Technologie durchdrungen.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen wurde 1987 in Koge, Dänemark, geboren. Er absolvierte einen Master in Fine Art am Central Saint Martins in London und einen Master in Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Kopenhagen. Kudsk Steensen hat international bei der 5. Trondheim Biennale für Kunst und Technologie, dem Carnegie Museum of Art, GUEST, GHOST, HOST: MACHINE! Marathon, Serpentine Galleries, Jepson Center for the Arts, Time Square Midnight Moment, MAXXI Rom, FRIEZE London, Podium und Ok Corral ausgestellt. Er stand auf der Shortlist für den Future Generation Art Prize der Venedig Biennale 2019 und wurde von der Danish Arts Foundation, der Augustinus Foundation und dem Lumen Prize for Art and Technology ausgezeichnet. Seine Arbeiten wurden unter anderem auf den Filmfestivals Sundance, TriBeCa und Cannes gezeigt. Steensen ist ein Alumnus von NEW INC, einem Technologie- und Kultur-Inkubator von The NEW MUSEUM in NYC, und hat kürzlich einen Aufenthalt bei Luma Arles in Frankreich absolviert. Er lebt und arbeitet in New York und Berlin.