Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Camille Henrot
Born 1978 in Paris, France; lives and works between New York City, Paris, and Berlin.

Camille Henrot’s diverse practice encompasses video, sculpture, installation, painting and works on paper. Henrot studied film animation at the École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris. A sprawling curiosity guides her interrogation of what it means to be at once a private individual and a global citizen. The layers of Henrot’s investigations unfold with a knowing humor, as she looks at interpersonal and political issues within a culture consumed by anxiety. Henrot draws inspiration from subjects as vast and varied as martial arts, evolutionary biology, self-help, psychoanalysis, and religion: “I see the world as a fragmented ensemble, and that fragmentation is harrowing. Through the research implied by my projects, I can establish some continuity.”

During a fellowship at the Smithsonian Institution in 2012, Henrot began an ambitious inquiry into how different cultures explain the origin of the world. The artist pursued the Institution’s archives, fascinated by its ambition for total representation and its endless contradictions. The resulting video Grosse Fatigue (2013) can be described as an epic amalgamation of origin stories. Grosse Fatigue borrows the familiar format of the computer desktop: new windows displaying videos and images expand, scroll and multiply, while an accompanying soundtrack—composed by Joakim Bouaziz, written by Henrot and poet Jacob Bromberg, and voiced by multidisciplinary artist Akwetey Orraca-Tetteh—narrates a pulsing melange of creation stories. As information has slipped from academic to algorithmic, personal devices become portals to oversaturation and, as the title suggests, the weight of this information is often felt as exhaustion. Henrot was awarded a Silver Lion at the 55th Venice Biennale for the presentation of Grosse Fatigue; years later, it remains an iconic work that permanently shifted the landscape of digital video.

In 2017, Henrot was given carte blanche to take over the 22,000 square-meter Palais de Tokyo in her hometown of Paris. The ambitious exhibition Days Are Dogs was structured by the seven days of the week and encompassed all forms of the artist’s output. The exhibition marked the premiere of Saturday (2017), a 3D film that takes the the Seventh-day Adventist (SDA) Church, an evangelical Christian denomination that celebrates the Sabbath, as it’s point of departure. Henrot traveled to SDA Church communities in the US and in the Kingdom of Tonga, Polynesia. Saturday splices handheld footage of water immersion baptisms with other contemporary imagery such as surfing, medical testing, cosmetic enhancement and protest. An electronic news-style ticker runs across the bottom of the screen, tempting the viewer to absorb multiple information sources simultaneously. Anxiety-inducing headlines describing environmental catastrophe are juxtaposed with footage of people finding faith, seeming to prophesy fire and brimstone, and ultimately offering a powerful reckoning with the concept of hope in our time.

As an artist-in-residence at Callie’s, Henrot is focusing on her paintings and works on paper. She is preparing her contribution to the 2021 Liverpool Biennial and other forthcoming exhibitions, including a solo exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne.

Born in Paris in 1978, Camille Henrot lives and works between New York City, Paris, and Berlin. A 2012 Smithsonian Artist Research Fellowship resulted in her film Grosse Fatigue, for which she was awarded the Silver Lion at the 55th Biennale di Venezia. She is the recipient of the 2014 Nam June Paik Award and the 2015 Edvard Munch Award. A corresponding exhibition will open at Oslo’s newly opened Munch Museum in fall 2022. She elaborated ideas from Grosse Fatigue to conceive her acclaimed 2014 installation The Pale Fox at Chisenhale Gallery in London. The exhibit went on to travel to institutions including Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen; Bétonsalon – Centre for art and research, Paris; and Westfälischer Kunstverein, Münster, Germany. This was followed by the major monograph Elephant Child (2016). In 2017, Henrot was given carte blanche at Palais de Tokyo in Paris, where she presented the major exhibition Days Are Dogs. She lives and works between New York City, Paris, and Berlin.

Henrot has had additional solo exhibitions at the New Museum, New York; Schinkel Pavillon, Berlin; New Orleans Museum of Art; Fondazione Memmo, Rome; Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, Japan; and Art Sonje in Seoul, Korea. Henrot has participated in biennial exhibitions of Venice, Lyon, Berlin and Sydney. Current and upcoming exhibitions include the Kestner Gesellschaft in Hannover, Germany (2021), National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Australia (2021), Liverpool Biennial (2021), Munch Museum in Oslo, Norway (2022) and Middelheim Museum in Antwerp, Belgium (2022).

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Camille Henrot
Geboren 1978 in Paris, Frankreich; lebt und arbeitet zwischen New York City, Paris und Berlin.

Camille Henrots vielfältige künstlerische Praxis umfasst Video, Skulptur, Installation, Malerei und Arbeiten auf Papier. Henrot studierte Filmanimation an der École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris. Mit unermüdlicher Neugierde geht sie der Frage nach, was es bedeutet, Privatperson und Weltbürger:in zugleich zu sein. Henrots vielschichtige Untersuchungen entfalten sich mit klugem Humor, wenn sie sich mit zwischenmenschlichen und politischen Fragen innerhalb einer von Angst geplagten Gesellschaft auseinandersetzt. Henrot lässt sich von so unterschiedlichen Themen wie Kampfkunst, Evolutionsbiologie, Selbsthilfe, Psychoanalyse und Religion inspirieren: „Ich sehe die Welt als ein fragmentiertes Ensemble und diese Fragmentierung ist erschütternd. Durch die Recherchen, die Teil meiner Projekte sind, stelle ich eine gewisse Kontinuität her“.

Während eines Aufenthalts an der Smithsonian Institution 2012 begann Henrot eine ehrgeizige Recherche darüber, wie verschiedene Kulturen den Ursprung der Welt erklären. Die Künstlerin untersuchte die Archive der Institution, fasziniert von deren Streben nach totaler Repräsentation und ihren dabei endlosen Widersprüchen. Die daraus entstandene Videoarbeit Grosse Fatigue (2013) kann als eine monumentale Verschmelzung von Ursprungsgeschichten verstanden werden. Die Arbeit bedient sich des vertrauten Formats eines Computer-Desktops: immer neue Fenster, in denen Videos angespielt und Bilder vergrößert, gescrollt und vervielfältigen werden. Währenddessen erzählt ein begleitender Soundtrack, der von Joakim Bouaziz komponiert, von Henrot und dem Dichter Jacob Bromberg geschrieben und vom multidisziplinären Künstler Akwetey Orraca-Tetteh eingesprochen wurde, eine pulsierende Melange von Schöpfungsgeschichten. Durch die Verschiebung der Informationen von akademisch zu algorithmisch, werden persönliche Endgeräte zu Portalen der Übersättigung. Wie der Titel bereits andeutet, wird das Gewicht dieser Informationen oft als ermüdend empfunden. Henrot wurde auf der 55. Biennale in Venedig für die Präsentation von Grosse Fatigue mit dem Silbernen Löwen ausgezeichnet. Jahre später bleibt es ein ikonisches Werk, welches das Genre des digitalen Videos nachhaltig verändert hat.

Im Jahr 2017 erhielt Henrot eine carte blanche, um den 22.000 Quadratmeter großen Palais de Tokyo in ihrer Heimatstadt Paris zu bespielen. Die Struktur der Ausstellung Days Are Dogs folgte den sieben Tagen der Woche und umfasste alle Formen des Schaffens der Künstlerin. Die Ausstellung markierte die Erstaufführung des 3D-Films Saturday (2017), der die Kirche der Siebenten-Tags-Adventisten (SDA), eine evangelisch-christliche Konfession, die den Sabbat feiert, zum Ausgangspunkt nimmt. Henrot reiste zu Gemeinden der SDA-Kirche in den USA und im Königreich Tonga, Polynesien. Saturday (2017) verbindet Videoaufnahmen von Taufen mit zeitgenössischen Bildern von Surfer:innen, medizinischen Tests, kosmetischen Eingriffen und Protesten. Am unteren Bildschirmrand läuft ein elektronischer Nachrichtenticker, der die Betrachter:innen dazu verleitet, mehrere Aufgaben simultan zu erledigen und verschiedene Informationsquellen gleichzeitig aufzunehmen. Beunruhigende Schlagzeilen, die eine Umweltkatastrophe beschreiben, werden Aufnahmen von Menschen gegenübergestellt, die zum Glauben finden und letztlich eine kraftvolle Abrechnung mit dem Konzept der Hoffnung in unserer Zeit bieten.

Als Artist-in-Residence bei Callie’s konzentriert sich Henrot auf ihre Malereien und Arbeiten auf Papier. Sie bereitet ihren Beitrag für die Liverpool Biennale 2021 und andere bevorstehende Ausstellungen vor, darunter eine Einzelausstellung in der National Gallery of Victoria in Melbourne.

Camille Henrot, 1978 in Paris geboren, lebt und arbeitet zwischen New York City, Paris und Berlin. Ein Forschungsstipendium des Smithsonian Artist Research Fellowship 2012 führte zu ihrem Film Grosse Fatigue, für den sie auf der 55. Biennale in Venedig mit dem Silbernen Löwen ausgezeichnet wurde. 2014 erhielt sie den Nam June Paik Award und 2015 den Edvard Munch Award. In diesem Zusammenhang wird im Herbst 2022 eine Ausstellung im neu eröffneten Munch-Museum in Oslo stattfinden. Für die Konzeption ihrer gefeierten Installation The Pale Fox in der Chisenhale Gallery 2014 arbeitete sie Ideen aus Grosse Fatigue weiter aus. Die Ausstellung wurde unter anderem in der Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Kopenhagen, im Bétonsalon – Zentrum für Kunst und Forschung, Paris und im Westfälischen Kunstverein, Münster gezeigt. Darauf folgte die große Monographie Elephant Child (2016). Im Jahr 2017 erhielt Henrot eine carte blanche für das Palais de Tokyo in Paris, wo sie die große Ausstellung Days Are Dogs präsentierte.

Henrot zeigte weitere Einzelausstellungen im New Museum, New York; im Schinkel-Pavillon, Berlin; im New Orleans Museum of Art; in der Fondazione Memmo, Rom; der Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, Japan; und bei Art Sonje in Seoul, Korea. Henrot hat an Biennalen in Venedig, Lyon, Berlin und Sydney teilgenommen. Ihre kommenden Einzelausstellungen werden in der Kestner Gesellschaft in Hannover, Deutschland (2021), der National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Australien (2021); bei der Liverpool Biennale (2021), im Munch Museum in Oslo, Norwegen (2022) und im Middelheim Museum in Antwerpen, Belgien (2022) zu sehen sein.