Menu
Temporarily closed
[
EN
]
/ de
Nkisi
Melika Ngombe Kolongo, aka Nkisi, born in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo; lives and works in London and Berlin.

Nkisi is the alias of Melika Ngombe Kolongo, an electronic musician, producer and artist. After earning a BA in Audio Visual Techniques at Narafi Brussels, Nkisi completed an MA in Psychosocial Studies with a focus in Culture, Diaspora & Ethnicity at Birkbeck, University London. Living in London, Nkisi became an integral part of the city’s cultural landscape. A regular performer at Endless—the club night that temporarily occupied and transformed unused spaces around the city—Nkisi is part of a milieu that insists upon fluidity and hybridity in art as in life. As Anna Wood wrote in a review of Nkisi’s debut album, 7 directions, for The Quietus, “It [is] psychoacoustics…finding out how the body and the memory is affected by sounds and rhythms. She’s making connections—between people, across time and space, in a way that is resilient, sustainable, pleasurable, powerful.”

Alongside ANGEL-HO and Chino Amobi, Nkisi is a founding member of NON Records, an independent record label and collective dedicated to artists who are African or from the African diaspora. NON was founded in 2015; a period in which the dominant strands of electronic music were invested in forms of cultural production that idealized passivity and distance; what 032c Magazine called “the big flat now”. NON, conversely, and Nkisi in particular, treats sound as a form of outsourced memory with sensorial depth and intelligence. Nkisi notes Édouard Glissant as a reference in her practice; Glissant’s understanding of poetics as a means of building new imaginaries is a philosophy that can be seen to correspond with Nkisi’s artistic oeuvre. Most recently, she co-founded Radical Agency Axis Arkestra’ with artist Curtly Thomas, describing its focus as being “on knowledge temporalities and alternative forms of knowledge production that have been dismissed as irrational by rational mechanisms of homogenized knowing,” and highlighting improvisation and transdisciplinary collaboration as a decolonial strategy.

During her residency at Callie’s, Nkisi will continue work on the Axis Arkestra project, engaging with old and new collaborators.

Nkisi’s recorded work includes Axis Arkestra (2020); Subjective Engine, R&S Compilation (2020); destruction of power, Collapsing Market (2019); 7 directions, UIQ (2019); Kinenga, Shared meanings Compilation (2019); The Dark Orchestra, Arcola (2018); RUIN EP, Endless (2017); Dj Kitoko 1 & 2, self-released (2017-2017); KILL EP, MW (2016); NON Worldwide (2015-2018) and Doomcore Records 16 & 21 (2014-2015). Select sound design includes Soundtrack for Slim Soledad performance Another Map to Nevada by Performance Agency, Berlin 2020; Sensa, 2019 with Paul Maheke & Ariel Ashbel performed at Block Universe London UK; Performa19 at Abrons Art Centre NYC; Ludwig Museum Cologne; Venice Biennial 2019; Levant 2018 with Paul Maheke & Ligia Lewis, Lafayette anticipation, Paris & Ludlow38 NYC; Do The Right Thing with Ariel Ashbel and Friends, HAU2, Berlin.

Nkisi has performed live in venues that include the Tate Modern, Berlin Atonal, HAU2 and Palais de Tokyo. She is a 2018 SHAPE Network Alumni and NTS Radio Resident since 2016. Nkisi currently lives and works between London and Berlin.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Nkisi
Melika Ngombe Kolongo, alias Nkisi, geboren in Kinshasa, Demokratische Republik Kongo; lebt und arbeitet in London und Berlin.

Nkisi ist das Pseudonym von Melika Ngombe Kolongo, einer elektronischen Musikerin, Produzentin und Künstlerin. Nach ihrem BA-Abschluss in Audiovisuellen Techniken bei Narafi Brussels absolvierte Nkisi einen MA in Psychosozialen Studien mit Schwerpunkt Kultur, Diaspora & Ethnizität an der Birkbeck University London. Während ihrer Zeit in London etablierte sich Nkisi als wichtiges Mitglied der Kulturlandschaft der Stadt. Als regelmäßige Performerin bei Endless, der Clubnacht, die vorübergehend ungenutzte Räume rund um die Stadt besetzt und umgestaltet, ist Nkisi Teil eines Umfelds, das auf Fluidität und Hybridität in der Kunst sowie im Leben besteht. Wie Anna Wood in einer Rezension von Nkisis Debütalbum 7 directions für The Quietus schrieb: “Es [ist] Psychoakustik…herauszufinden, wie der Körper und das Gedächtnis durch Klänge und Rhythmen beeinflusst werden. Sie stellt Verbindungen her – zwischen Menschen, über Zeit und Raum hinweg, auf eine Art und Weise, die widerstandsfähig, nachhaltig, wohltuend und kraftvoll ist.”

Neben ANGEL-HO und Chino Amobi ist Nkisi Gründungsmitglied von NON Records, einem Independent-Plattenlabel und Kollektiv, das sich Künstler:innen der afrikanischen Diaspora oder mit afrikanischer Herkunft widmet. NON wurde 2015 gegründet, in einer Zeit, in der die dominanten Stränge der elektronischen Musik sich auf Formen kultureller Produktion fokussierten, die Passivität und Distanz idealisierten; „the big flat now“, wie es das Magazin 032c bezeichnete. NON hingegen und insbesondere Nkisi behandeln Klang als eine Form ausgelagerter Erinnerung mit sensorischer Tiefe und Intelligenz. Nkisi stellt Édouard Glissant als Referenz in ihrer Praxis heraus; Glissants Verständnis der Poesie als Mittel zum Aufbau neuer Imaginationen ist eine Philosophie, die mit Nkisis künstlerischem Schaffen korrespondiert. Zuletzt gründete sie gemeinsam mit dem Künstler Curtly Thomas die Radical Agency Axis Arkestra’, deren Schwerpunkt sie als „auf Wissenszeitlichkeiten und alternative Formen der Wissensproduktion“ beschreibt, „die durch rationale Mechanismen des homogenisierten Wissens als irrational abgetan wurden“. Damit hebt sie Improvisation und transdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit als dekoloniale Strategie hervor.

Während ihres Aufenthaltes bei Callie’s setzt Nkisi die Arbeit am Axis Arkestra Projekt fort und arbeitet dabei mit alten und neuen Kollaborateur:innen zusammen.

Zu Nkisis aufgezeichneten Arbeiten gehören Axis Arkestra (2020); Subjective Engine, R&S Compilation (2020); destruction of power, Collapsing Market (2019); 7 directions, UIQ (2019); Kinenga, Shared meanings Compilation (2019); The Dark Orchestra, Arcola (2018); RUIN EP, Endless (2017); Dj Kitoko 1 & 2, selbstveröffentlicht (2017-2017); KILL EP, MW (2016); NON Worldwide (2015-2018) und Doomcore Records 16 & 21 (2014-2015). Zu ihren ausgewählten Sounddesigns gehören der Soundtrack für die Slim Soledad-Performance Another Map to Nevada der Performance Agency, Berlin 2020; Sensa, 2019 mit Paul Maheke & Ariel Ashbel, aufgeführt im Block Universe London UK; Performa19 im Abrons Art Centre NYC; Ludwig Museum Köln; Biennale Venedig 2019; Levant 2018 mit Paul Maheke & Ligia Lewis; Lafayette anticipation, Paris & Ludlow38 NYC; Do The Right Thing mit Ariel Ashbel and Friends, HAU2, Berlin.

Nkisi ist unter anderem in der Tate Modern, bei Berlin Atonal, im HAU2 und im Palais de Tokyo live aufgetreten. Sie ist Alumna des SHAPE-Netzwerks 2018 und seit 2016 Resident bei NTS Radio. Derzeit lebt und arbeitet sie in Berlin.