Menu
Temporarily closed
[
EN
]
/ de
Zohra Opoku
Born 1976 in Altdöbern, formerly East Germany; lives and works in Accra, Ghana.

Trained in fashion and photography, Zohra Opoku weaves together personal, historical, and cultural subject matter throughout her practice. The Accra-based artist was born in the former GDR, or East Germany, to a German mother and Ghanian father. The weight of social constructions and the pressures of conformity are softly untangled in her work. Opoku moved to Accra in 2011, a decision motivated by a desire to further connect with her African identity. The move prompted her to consider traditional Ghanian textiles and dress codes, including the Kente cloth, which has been an inherent part of the country’s identity and industry throughout West Africa’s complex history. In doing so, Opoku began to firmly root her own artistic explorations within the tangible evidence of a larger socio-political framework.

In Opoku’s portraits and self-portraits, the face is often obscured, sometimes by leaves or other elements from the natural world. Opoku experiments with the process of printing, and has printed her photography directly onto textiles, using screen printing, cyanotype, and the silver printing process Van Dyke brown. Opoku describes the symbolism of this process: “The material absorbs the photographic image, demonstrating how in society material can literally become imbued with meaning, memories, and histories over time.”

In a 2018 solo exhibition at Mariane Ibrahim Gallery in Chicago titled Harmattan Tales, Opoku displayed works that emerged from photographing Accra’s minority population of Muslim women. "Harmattan” refers to the dry season in West Africa, when weather patterns from the Sahara desert manifest as dusty winds. Researching and creating this work, Opoku attended Friday prayers at the Mosque and was invited to visit the homes of the women she met. Opoku’s large screen-printed portraits reveal the complexity and self-determination of her sitters.

While in residency at Callie’s, Opoku began work on her series The Doll Test (2020), revisiting the toys and tales that informed her childhood. In this series, Opoku draws parallels between the popular German book of short stories Der Struwwelpeter (1845) —a morality tale in which white boys are punished for their racism by being dipped into black ink— and the common practice today of giving white dolls as charitable donations to children in Ghana. Taking her own experience as a point of departure, Opoku explores the historical image of Blackness, as well as its futurity. Opoku reflects on this book and its residual effects, noting: "Through a personal journey of empowerment, I have learned to embrace myself, my skin tone and my hair. It has taken years and work to gain full consciousness and confidence.”

Zohra Opoku was born in 1976 in Altdöbern, Germany. She has exhibited internationally in association with Mariane Ibrahim Gallery, Chicago; Nubuke Foundation, Accra; Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos; !Kauru African Contemporary Art, Johannesburg; Commune.1, Cape Town; Kunsthaus Hamburg; Iwalewahaus Beirut; Musée de l'Ethnographie, Bordeaux; Guggenheim Museum Bilbao; Kunsthal Rotterdam; Broad Art Museum at Michigan State University; Museum for Photography, Chicago. Her recent residencies include Institute Sacatar Salvador da Bahia, Brazil; Art Dubai Residents, United Arab Emirates; and Black Rock Senegal. Opoku lives and works in Accra, Ghana.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Zohra Opoku
Geboren 1976 in Altdöbern, ehemalige DDR; lebt und arbeitet in Accra, Ghana.

Ausgebildet in Mode und Fotografie, verwebt Zohra Opoku in ihren Arbeiten persönliche, historische und kulturelle Inhalte miteinander. Die in Accra lebende Künstlerin wurde als Tochter einer deutschen Mutter und eines ghanaischen Vaters in der ehemaligen DDR geboren. Die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Gewicht sozialer Konstrukte und dem Druck zur Konformität finden sich in ihrem Werk auf sanfte Weise wieder. Opoku zog 2011 nach Accra, eine Entscheidung, die stark durch den Wunsch motiviert war, sich stärker mit ihrer afrikanischen Identität zu beschäftigen. Der Umzug veranlasste sie, sich mit traditionellen ghanaischen Textilien und Kleidungsvorschriften auseinanderzusetzen, einschließlich des Kente-Stoffes, welcher in der komplexen Geschichte Westafrikas ein fester Bestandteil von Identität und Industrie war. Auf diese Weise begann Opoku, ihre eigenen künstlerischen Recherchen fest in den greifbaren Zeugnissen eines größeren sozio-politischen Rahmens zu verankern.

In Opokus Porträts und Selbstporträts ist das Gesicht der Abgebildeten oft verdeckt, meist durch Blätter oder andere Elemente aus der Natur. Opoku experimentiert mit Druckverfahren und bringt ihre Fotografien direkt auf Textilien auf, wobei sie Siebdruck, Cyanotypie und das Silberdruckverfahren Van-Dyke-Brown verwendet. Opoku beschreibt die Symbolik dieses Prozesses: „Das Material absorbiert das fotografische Bild und zeigt, wie in der Gesellschaft Material im Laufe der Zeit buchstäblich mit Bedeutung, Erinnerungen und Geschichten durchtränkt werden kann.“

In einer Einzelausstellung in der Mariane Ibrahim Gallery in Chicago im Jahr 2018 mit dem Titel Harmattan Tales zeigte Opoku Arbeiten, die basierend auf fotografischen Aufnahmen der muslimischen Minderheitsbevölkerung von Accra entstanden waren. „Harmattan” bezieht sich auf die Trockenzeit in Westafrika, wenn sich Witterungsverläufe aus der Sahara-Wüste als staubige Winde manifestieren. Für die Recherche und die Umsetzung dieser Arbeit besuchte Opoku die Freitagsgebete in der Moschee von Accra und wurde eingeladen, die Häuser der dort lebenden Frauen zu besuchen. Opokus großformatige Siebdruck-Porträts offenbaren die Komplexität und Selbstbestimmung ihrer Porträtierten.

Während ihres Aufenthalts bei Callie’s begann Opoku mit der Entwicklung ihrer Serie The Doll Test (2020), in der sie die Spielzeuge und Märchen ihrer Kindheit wieder aufgreift. In dieser Serie zieht Opoku Parallelen zwischen der populären deutschen Kurzgeschichte Der Struwwelpeter (1845) – einer Moralgeschichte, in der weiße Jungen für ihren Rassismus bestraft werden, indem man sie in schwarze Tinte taucht – und der heute üblichen Praxis, weiße Puppen als wohltätige Spenden an Kinder in Ghana zu verteilen. Ausgehend von ihrer eigenen Erfahrung erkundet Opoku das historische Bild von Blackness, aber auch dessen Zukunft. Opoku reflektiert über das Buch und seine Nachwirkungen und stellt fest: „Durch eine persönliche Reise der Ermächtigung habe ich gelernt, mich selbst, meine Hautfarbe und meine Haare anzunehmen. Es hat Jahre an Arbeit gebraucht, um volles Bewusstsein und Selbstvertrauen zu erlangen.“

Zohra Opoku wurde 1976 in Altdöbern, Deutschland, geboren. Sie hat international in Zusammenarbeit mit der Mariane Ibrahim Gallery, Chicago; der Nubuke Foundation, Accra; dem Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos; !Kauru African Contemporary Art, Johannesburg; Commune.1, Kapstadt; dem Kunsthaus Hamburg; dem Iwalewahaus Beirut; dem Musée de l'Ethnographie, Bordeaux; dem Guggenheim Museum Bilbao; der Kunsthal Rotterdam; dem Broad Art Museum an der Michigan State University und dem Museum for Photography, Chicago ausgestellt. Ihre jüngsten Residencies verbrachte sie am Institute Sacatar Salvador da Bahia, Brasilien; bei Art Dubai Residents, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate und Black Rock Senegal. Opoku lebt und arbeitet in Accra, Ghana.