Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Khyam Allami
Born 1981 in Damascus, Syria; lives and works in Berlin.

Renowned for his virtuosity of the oud instrument, Khyam Allami is an Iraqi-British musician and composer. He was born in Damascus, Syria, in 1981 to Iraqi parents and raised in London from age 9. Allami’s first instrument was the violin, which he learned for a role in the Syrian arthouse film Al-Tahaleb (Rimon Butros, 1990). During his early years as a practicing musician, Allami explored a breadth of interests; he performed in punk, metal, post-rock, and progressive rock bands in London, such as Art of Burning Water, Ursa, and Knifeworld.

Allami was living in London when the US led the invasion of Iraq in 2004. This turbulent period prompted him to reconsider his roots and history, as well as his connection to the Arab world. During this time, Allami began learning the oud, which quickly became his primary instrument. He re-centered his practice on the fundamentals of Arabic music, with a focus on tuning and microtonality. This formative period was further solidified by studies in Ethnomusicology from the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London.

Allami’s highly lauded solo oud album, Resonance/Dissonance (2011), led to high profile international performances at CTM (DE), BBC Proms (UK), and WOMAD (UK), among others. In 2014, Allami launched Nawa Recordings, an independent record label releasing new alternative music from the Arab world. In an interview with Kalimat Magazine, Allami described the motivations that led him to establish the label: “I want to encourage production in the [Arab] region through releasing new music, getting people to create new works, and helping get those works out, as well as some reissues for the sake of documentation.”

Allami is currently undertaking a Ph.D. in composition from the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, Birmingham City University. During this three-year practice-based research degree, he will explore the application of contemporary acoustic, electro-acoustic, and electronic compositional techniques and processes to Arabic music through the use of technology and instrumentation.

Born in Damascus, Syria in 1981, Khyam Allami is an Iraqi-British multi-instrumentalist musician, composer, researcher, and founder of Nawa Recordings. He completed a BA and Masters in Ethnomusicology from the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London. In 2010, he was selected as the first protege of BBC Radio 3’s World Routes Academy mentorship scheme, and in 2011 he released his solo oud album, Resonance/Dissonance. Allami has composed works for film, theatre, and dance, including the the score for As I Open My Eyes by Leyla Bouzid (2016), All This Victory by Ahmad Ghossein (2019) and A Universe not Made for Us (2019), a collaboration with contemporary Flamenco dancer and choreographer Yalda Younes. His recent commissions include Requiem for the 21st Century, an immersive Oud-based installation for Opera North (Leeds, UK), and an upcoming string quartet for JACK quartet (NYC, USA). Allami lives and works in Berlin.

Menü
Vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Khyam Allami
Geboren 1981 in Damaskus, Syrien; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Khyam Allami ist ein irakisch-britischer Musiker und Komponist, der für seine Virtuosität auf dem Oud-Instrument bekannt ist. Er wurde 1981 in Damaskus, Syrien, als Sohn irakischer Eltern geboren und wuchs ab seinem neunten Lebensjahr in London auf. Allamis erstes Instrument war die Geige, die er für eine Rolle in dem syrischen Arthouse-Film Al-Tahaleb (Rimon Butros, 1990) zu spielen lernte. Während seiner frühen Jahre als praktizierender Musiker verfolgte er ein breites Spektrum von Interessen; so trat er zum Beispiel in Punk-, Metal-, Post-Rock- und Progressive-Rock-Bands in London auf, etwa Art of Burning Water, Ursa und Knifeworld.

Als die USA 2004 in den Irak einmarschierten, lebte Allami in London. Diese turbulente Zeit veranlasste ihn dazu, sich näher mit seinen Wurzeln und seiner Geschichte sowie seiner Verbindung zur arabischen Welt zu befassen. Allami begann mit dem Erlernen der Oud, die schnell zu seinem wichtigsten Instrument wurde. Er konzentrierte sich in seiner Praxis auf die Grundlagen der arabischen Musik, wobei Stimmung und Mikrotonalität im Zentrum seiner Auseinandersetzung standen. Diese prägende Zeit wurde durch ein Studium der Ethnomusikologie an der School of Oriental and African Studies der Universität London verfestigt.

Allamis hochgelobtes Solo-Oud-Album Resonance/Dissonance (2011) führte zu hochkarätigen internationalen Auftritten, unter anderem bei CTM (DE), BBC Proms (UK) und WOMAD (UK). Im Jahr 2014 gründete Allami Nawa Recordings, ein unabhängiges Plattenlabel, das neue alternative Musik aus der arabischen Welt veröffentlicht. In einem Interview mit dem Kalimat Magazine beschrieb Allami die Beweggründe, die ihn zur Gründung des Labels bewogen hatten: “Ich möchte die Produktion in der [arabischen] Region fördern, indem ich neue Musik veröffentliche, Menschen dazu bewege, neue Werke zu schaffen und ihnen dabei helfe, diese herauszubringen. Außerdem möchte ich für Dokumentationszwecke einige Werke wiederveröffentlichen.”

Allami promoviert zurzeit am Royal Birmingham Conservatoire der Birmingham City University im Fach Komposition. Während dieses dreijährigen, praxisorientierten Forschungsstudiums wird er die Anwendung zeitgenössischer akustischer, elektroakustischer und elektronischer Kompositionstechniken und -prozesse in arabischer Musik durch den Einsatz von Technologien und Instrumentierung erforschen.

Khyam Allami, 1981 in Damaskus, Syrien, geboren, ist ein irakisch-britischer Multi-instrumentalist, Musiker, Komponist, Forscher und Gründer von Nawa Recordings. Er erwarb einen BA und MA in Ethnomusikologie an der School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) der Universität London ab. 2010 wurde er als erster Protegé des Mentoringprogramms von BBC Radio 3 für die World Routes Academy nominiert und veröffentlichte 2011 sein Solo-Oud-Album Resonance/Dissonance. Allami hat für Film, Theater und Tanz komponiert, darunter die Partitur für As I Open My Eyes von Leyla Bouzid (2016), All This Victory von Ahmad Ghossein (2019) und A Universe not Made for Us (2019), eine Kollaboration mit der zeitgenössischen Flamencotänzerin und Choreografin Yalda Younes. Zu seinen jüngsten Aufträgen gehören Requiem for the 21st Century, eine auf Oud basierende Installation für Opera North (Leeds, Großbritannien) sowie ein demnächst erscheinendes Streichquartett für JACK Quartett (NYC, USA). Allami lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.