Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Petrit Halilaj
Born 1986 in Kostërrc, Kosovo; lives and works between Berlin, Mantua, and Pristina.

In his installations and sculptures, Petrit Halilaj charts the ways in which geographic and temporal locations shift matter and meaning. Embedded in his experience of war and dislocation, Halilaj explores diasporic memory by revisiting the dwellings and symbols of his homeland and personal history. Historian Eric Hobsbawm urges us to ‘protest against forgetting’; in Halilaj’s work, this protest is taken up––however, memory is neither nostalgic nor traumatic. Halilaj’s speculative worlds are symbols of possibility and transformation. As curator Kathrin Rhomberg wrote when she curated Halilaj’s work in the first Pavilion at the Republic of Kosovo at the 55th Venice Biennale in 2012, “his art can be seen as building bridges between different worlds and realities, ideologies, different generations and phases of life.”

In Kostërrc, Halilaj’s installation for Art Basel Statements in 2011, Halilaj transported a cross-section of land from his family’s property in Kostërrc, Kosovo, to literally fill the gallery’s booth. On display was the green and yellow grass, the dirt and soil now thousands of miles from its home. Also on view was a photograph of the hole left in the Kosovar countryside, making tangible the interdependency, and providing an alternate perspective of the effects of departure. This work is now a permanent installation on Callie’s grounds—as it continues to grow and adapt to the habitat in Berlin, its history becomes integrated. With Halilaj’s work, the exhibition space becomes a habitat of change, allowing us to consider waves of migration, flux, and motion.

Anecdote and personal narratives frequently intertwine with intimate collaborations in Halilaj’s work. From January to March 2017, Halilaj had his first residency at Callie’s to prepare a large-scale installation for the 57th Biennale di Venezia. Collaborating with his mother, Halilaj created large performative sculptures of moths using traditional Kosovar textiles. Moths are a frequent reference point in Halilaj’s work, symbolizing the delicate, hopeful state of chrysalis. The moth also draws on early memories of chasing them as they flocked to the light in his childhood home. In 2016, he made his first moth costume and an accompanying performance: dressed as a moth, he moved in relation to a lamp, alternately coming close to the light source or hiding in the darker corners of the room. For this project, Halilaj was awarded a Special Mention from the jury of the 57th International Art Exhibition at La Biennale di Venezia in 2017.

In 2019 Halilaj returned to Callie’s to work on a new body of work in collaboration with artist—and Halilaj’s life-partner—Alvaro Urbano. The two artists created monumental painted canvas and steel flowers commemorating all of the flowering plants that played a role in the lovers’ courtship. The project was prepared for Halilaj’s solo exhibition for the Museo Reina Sofía in Madrid, titled To a raven and the hurricanes that from unknown places bring back smells of humans in love (2020). Halilaj and Urbano turned the Palacio de Cristal into a joyful bouquet. Birds are a recurring motif in Halilaj’s work; not only do they symbolize return and migration, but the artist-couple has also lived with them and so they have a personal significance. Within this open structure of the Palacio de Cristal, the artists installed feeding areas for the birds, creating a multi-species oasis.

Petrit Halilaj represented Kosovo at the 55th Venice Biennale in 2013. He received the Mario Merz Prize, and the special mention of the jury at the 57th Venice Biennale in 2017. In 2018, he was awarded the Smithsonian Artist Research Fellowship.

Halilaj was born in 1986 in Kostërrc, Kosovo. He studied fine arts at the Brera Academy in Milan. Solo exhibitions include Tate St Ives, UK (forthcoming, 2021); To a raven and hurricanes that from unknown places bring back smells of humans in love, Palacio de Cristal, Reina Sofia, Madrid (2020-21); Shkrepëtima, Paul Klee Zentrum, Bern, Switzerland (2018); Petrit Halilaj, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, USA (2018); Shkrepëtima, Fondazione Merz, Torino, Italy (2018); Ru, New Museum, New York, USA (2017); Abetare (Fluturat), kamel mennour, Paris (2017); Do you realise there is a rainbow even if it’s night!?, kamel mennour, London (2017); and Astronauts Saw My Work and Started Laughing, Stacion, Center for Contemporary Art, Prishtina, Kosovo. He has participated in group shows such as Power ! Light !, Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg, Germany (2020) and Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg, Germany (2019); You, works from the collection Lafayette Anticipations, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, France (2019); Far Back Must Go Who Wants To Do A Big Jump, ChertLüdde, Berlin, Germany (2019); Friend of a Friend, ChertLüdde hosted by Foksal Gallery, Warsaw, Poland (2019); Enfance, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, France (2019); Materialism: in praise of slowness, Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm, Sweden (2019); and Art and Alphabet, Hamburger Kunsthalle, Hamburg (2018). Halilaj lives and works between Berlin, Mantua, and Pristina.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Petrit Halilaj
Geboren 1986 in Kostërrc, Kosovo; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Mantua und Pristina.

In seinen Installationen und Skulpturen zeichnet Petrit Halilaj nach, wie geographische und zeitliche Orte Materie und Bedeutung beeinflussen. Eingebettet in seine Erfahrungen mit Krieg und Vertreibung erforscht Halilaj die Erinnerung an die Diaspora, indem er die Wohnorte und Symbole seiner Heimat und seiner persönlichen Geschichte wieder aufsucht. Der Historiker Eric Hobsbawm forderte uns auf „gegen das Vergessen zu protestieren“; in Halilajs Werk wird dieser Protest aufgegriffen, wobei Erinnerung in seinem Werk weder nostalgisch noch traumatisch ist. Halilajs spekulative Welten sind Werke der Möglichkeiten und Transformation. Wie Kuratorin Kathrin Rhomberg schrieb, als sie Halilajs Werk im ersten Pavillon der Republik Kosovo auf der 55. Biennale in Venedig 2012 kuratierte, „seine Kunst kann als Brücke zwischen verschiedenen Welten,Realitäten, Ideologien, Generationen und Lebensphasen gesehen werden“.

Für Kostërrc, Halilajs Installation für Art Basel Statements im Jahr 2011, transportierte Halilaj einen Querschnitt des Grundstücks aus dem Besitz seiner Familie in Kostërrc, Kosovo, und füllte damit buchstäblich den Messestand der Galerie. Zu sehen war das grüne und gelbe Gras, der Schlamm und die Erde, die nun tausende Kilometer von seinem Zuhause entfernt waren. Gezeigt wurde außerdem ein Foto der Aushebung, die in der kosovarischen Landschaft hinterlassen wurde. Sie machte die gegenseitige Abhängigkeit greifbar und bot eine alternative Perspektive auf die Auswirkungen der Entwerfung aus dem ursprünglichen Kontext. Kostërrc ist heute eine permanente Installation auf dem Gelände von Callie’s – während sie weiter wächst und sich an den Lebensraum in Berlin anpasst, wird ihre Geschichte in die neue Umgebung integriert. Mit Halilajs Arbeit wird der Ausstellungsraum zu einem Lebensraum des Wandels, der uns erlaubt, Wellen der Migration, der Transformation und der Bewegung zu reflektieren.

Anekdoten und persönliche Erzählungen verflechten sich in Halilajs Werk häufig mit intimen Kollaborationen. Von Januar bis März 2017 verbrachte Halilaj seinen ersten Aufenthalt bei Callie’s, um eine groß angelegte Installation für die 57. Biennale in Venedig vorzubereiten. In Zusammenarbeit mit seiner Mutter schuf Halilaj große performative Skulpturen von Motten unter Verwendung traditioneller kosovarischer Textilien. Motten sind ein häufiger Bezugspunkt in Halilajs Werk und symbolisieren den zarten, hoffnungsvollen Zustand der Puppe – dem Übergangsstadium zwischen der Insektenlarve und dem geschlechtsreifen Insekt. Die Motte greift auch auf frühe Erinnerungen zurück, als Halilaj sie als Kind in seinem Elternhaus jagte, wenn sie sich dem Licht näherten. Im Jahr 2016 kreierte er sein erstes Mottenkostüm mit begleitender Performance: Als Motte verkleidet bewegte er sich in Bezug zu einer Lampe, wobei er sich abwechselnd der Lichtquelle näherte oder sich in den dunkleren Ecken des Raumes versteckte. Für dieses Projekt erhielt Halilaj eine lobende Erwähnung der Jury der 57. Internationalen Kunstausstellung auf der Biennale in Venedig im Jahr 2017.

Im Jahr 2019 kehrte Halilaj zu Callie’s zurück, um in Zusammenarbeit mit Künstler und seinem Lebenspartner Alvaro Urbano an einem neuen Werk zu arbeiten. Gemeinsam schufen sie monumentale, bemalte Leinwände und Stahlblumen. Sie erinnern an verschiedene blühende Pflanzen, die im Laufe ihrer Liebesbeziehung eine Rolle gespielt haben. Das Projekt wurde für Halilajs Einzelausstellung To a raven and the hurricanes that from unknown places bring back smells of humans in love im Museo Reina Sofía in Madrid 2020 konzipiert, in dessen Rahmen Halilaj und Urbano den Palacio de Cristal in ein freudiges Bouquet verwandelten. Vögel sind ein wiederkehrendes Motiv in Halilajs Werk; sie symbolisieren nicht nur Rückkehr und Migration, das Künstlerpaar lebte zeitweise auch mit Vögeln und hat daher eine persönliche Beziehung zu ihnen. In der offenen Struktur des Palacio de Cristal installierten die beiden Künstler daher Futterplätze für Vögel und schufen so eine Oase der Artenvielfalt.

2013 vertrat Petrit Halilaj Kosovo auf der 55. Biennale in Venedig. Er erhielt den Mario-Merz-Preis und die besondere Erwähnung der Jury bei der 57. Biennale in Venedig im Jahre 2017. Auf der Biennale in Venedig 2018 wurde ihm das Smithsonian Artist Research Fellowship verliehen.

Halilaj wurde 1986 in Kostërrc, Kosovo, geboren. Er studierte Bildende Kunst an der Brera-Akademie in Mailand. Zu seinen Einzelausstellungen gehören Tate St. Ives, Großbritannien (demnächst, 2021); To a raven und hurricanes that from unknown places bring back smells of humans in love, Palacio de Cristal, Reina Sofia, Madrid (2020-21); Shkrepëtima, Paul Klee Zentrum, Bern, Schweiz (2018); Petrit Halila, Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, USA (2018); Shkrepëtima, Fondazione Merz, Turin, Italien (2018); Ru, New Museum, New York, USA (2017); Abetare (Fluturat), kamel mennour, Paris (2017); Do you realise there is a rainbow even if it’s night!?, kamel mennour, London (2017); und Astronauts Saw My Work and Started Laughing, Stacion, Center for Contemporary Art, Prishtina, Kosovo. Er hat an Gruppenausstellungen wie Power ! Light !, Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (2020) und Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg (2019); You, works from the collection Lafayette Anticipations, Musée d'Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris, Frankreich (2019); Far Back Must Go Who Wants To Do A Big Jump, ChertLüdde, Berlin, Deutschland (2019); Friend of a Friend, ChertLüdde, zu Gast in der Galerie Foksal, Warschau, Polen (2019); Enfance, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, Frankreich (2019); Materialism: in praise of slowness, Bonniers Konsthall, Stockholm, Schweden (2019); und Art and Alphabet, Hamburger Kunsthalle, Hamburg (2018). Halilaj lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Deutschland, Mantua, Italien, und Pristina, Kosovo.