Menu
Open tomorrow at 14:00
Omsk Social Club
Founded in 2016.

A radical experiment at the intersection of art, politics, and life, Omsk Social Club has been described as an “empathy training camp”. The collective facilitates role-playing environments within contemporary art contexts. Utilizing traditional methods of Live Action Role Play (LARP) and Real Game Play (RGP), Omsk crafts speculative worlds in which more than 4,000 people have participated across Europe to date. While the collective works closely with a network of core and public players, Omsk’s game designs and installations are unique and unrehearsed, giving them a unique power to collapse the distinction between artist and audience, art and life. Omsk’s installations have revolved around rave culture, survivalism, catfishing, positive trolling, and decentralized cryptocurrency. Recently, they presented their largest continuous Live Action Role Play at Kunstraum Bethainien, lasting 58 days and reflecting on the idea of ​​life online as “Cosmic depression—Paradise without ecology.”

The name “Omsk” refers to the Siberian city in which Dostoevsky was exiled for discussing banned literature in Tsarist Russia, an indication of the collective’s belief in the radical and divisive potential of art. Omsk Social Club’s interactive and durational installations push participants beyond immediate, visceral reactions. Responding to digital culture with purpose and depth, it is fitting that Omsk often refer to their events as ceremonies.

During their residency at Callie’s, Omsk will open up the studio space to local practitioners to experiment with alternative working methods, while working on a large-scale interactive installation that aims to guide the participants into an ecology of the mind.

Founded in 2016, Omsk Social Club have exhibited across Europe in various institutions, galleries, and off-sites such as Martin Gropius Bau; House of Electronic Kunst Basel; Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich; HKW, Berlin; CCCB, Barcelona, Kunstraum Bethainien; and the Onassis Foundation, Athens. Omsk was recently awarded The New Networked Normal Project Grant in 2018 for their Cryptorave series and were included in The Athens Biennale, Transmediale Festival, Impakt Festival, and The Influencers. Omsk founded the Ying Colosseum in Berlin (2015-2016) and Play Co Summit with Ed Fornieles (2017-ongoing). In Spring of 2021, Omsk will co-curate the Athens Biennale with Larry Ossei-Mensah.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Omsk Social Club
Gegründet 2016.

Als radikales Experiment an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Politik und Leben versteht sich Omsk Social Club als „Empathie-Trainingslager“. Das Kollektiv schafft Rollenspielumgebungen im Kontext zeitgenössischer Kunst. Dabei nutzt Omsk Social Club traditionelle Methoden des Live Action Role Play (LARP) und des Real Game Play (RGP), um spekulative Welten zu schaffen, an denen bis heute mehr als 4.000 Menschen in ganz Europa teilgenommen haben. Während das Kollektiv eng mit einem Netzwerk öffentlicher und Hauptakteur:innen zusammenarbeitet, sind Omsks Game Designs und Installationen nicht einstudiert. Sie sind immer einmalig, was ihnen die einzigartige Macht verleiht, die Unterscheidung zwischen Künstler:in und Publikum, Kunst und Leben zu sprengen. Omsks Installationen drehten sich um Rave-Kultur, Survivalism, Catfishing, Positives Trolling und dezentralisierte Krypto-Währungen. Jüngst präsentierten sie im Kunstraum Bethanien ihr bisher größtes kontinuierliches Live-Action-Rollenspiel, welches 58 Tage dauerte und sich mit der Idee des Online-Lebens als „Cosmic depression—Paradise without ecology“ auseinandersetzte.

Während ihres Aufenthaltes bei Callie’s öffneten Omsk ihr Studio für lokale Künstler:innen, um mit alternativen Methoden zu experimentieren und gleichzeitig an einer groß angelegten, interaktiven Installation zu arbeiten, die die Teilnehmer:innen in eine „Ökologie des Geistes“ führen soll.

2016 gegründet, haben Omsk Social Club bereits in verschiedenen Institutionen, Galerien und Off-Sites in ganz Europa ausgestellt, so beispielsweise im Martin Gropius Bau; im Haus der elektronischen Kunst Basel; im Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zürich; im HKW, Berlin; im CCCB, Barcelona; im Kunstraum Bethainien; und in der Onassis Foundation, Athen. Omsk wurden kürzlich mit dem New Networked Normal Project Grant 2018 für ihre Cryptorave-Reihe ausgezeichnet sowie in die Athen Biennale, das Transmediale Festival, das Impakt Festival und The Influencers aufgenommen. Omsk haben außerdem das Ying-Kolosseum in Berlin (2015-2016) und den Play Co Summit mit Ed Fornieles (ab 2017) gegründet. Im Frühjahr 2021 werden Omsk gemeinsam mit Larry Ossei-Mensah die Athen Biennale co-kuratieren.