Menu
Temporarily closed
[
EN
]
/ de
Frida Giulia Franceschini
Born 1987 in Bologna, Italy; lives and works in Berlin.

Frida Giulia Franceschini studied contemporary dance in the Netherlands, Austria, and Belgium. With a background in visual arts, ballet and acrobatics, Franceschini references a range of culturally entrenched formats of theatricality, from the peep show to the magic trick. Drawing from her own experience, she does not shy away from the complex dynamics ignited by the female body at work. Her performative practice contributes to the essential conversation around labor, sexual desire, and the body.

Franceschini presented her first choreographic work Baby in 2015. Developed alongside performer (and frequent collaborator) Viktoria Andersson, Baby exhibited Franceschini’s expansive and experimental approach to the choreographic medium. The work was based not only on dance, but various realms of performative exercises, including role play, night walks, and karaoke.

While in residence at Callie’s in 2019, Franceschini conceptualized and developed the choreography for her performance work Tricks for Gold (T4$), which premiered at Sophiensæle Berlin in 2020 as part of Tanztage Berlin. Developed in collaboration with performer-costume designer Lea Kieffer and sound designer Ksenija Ladić, Tricks for Gold (T4$) is the story of a heroine who, using magic, tries to transform herself into money. Provocative and exuberant, Tricks for Gold (T4$) plays with tropes of women’s performative labor—from striptease to the magician’s assistant —to confront the fraught relationship between desire, work, and late capitalism through the lens of contemporary feminism.

In 2020, Franceschini realized the work HOT MOMS, which considers pregnancy as a potential moment of liberation: can pregnancy offer respite from the sexualized gaze and self-objectification? Performing the work via a webcam while six months pregnant, Franceschini lays bare her curiosity towards her own sociopolitical place in the world, exploring the complicated relationship between female identity, biology, and value.

Born in 1987 in Bologna, Italy, Frida Giulia Franceschini is a performer, choreographer, and exotic dancer. With a background in visual arts and ballet, she studied contemporary dance and acrobatics between the Netherlands (Rotterdam Dance Academy), Austria (S.E.A.D. Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance) and Belgium. Franceschini has performed for international artists and choreographers, such as Rita Vilhena, Guilherme Botelho, Dani Brown, Aitana Cordero Vico, Giorgia Ohanesian Nardin, Ola Maciejewska, and Isabel Lewis. In 2015, Franceschini presented Baby, a performative duo created in collaboration with dancer Viktoria Andersson, and in 2016, Be Water My Friend, an interactive solo performance with live music, in collaboration with CM Gratitude and Sophie Vitelli. She received the DanceWeb scholarship in 2018. In January 2020 she premiered her work Tricks for Gold (T4$) at Tanztage Berlin. Currently Franceschini continues her research on the female body in the era of capitalism, most recently conceptualising HOT MOMS, an open research on pregnancy, objectification and self-display. Franceschini lives and works in Berlin.

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
Frida Giulia Franceschini
Geboren 1987 in Bologna, Italien; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Frida Giulia Franceschini studierte Zeitgenössischen Tanz in den Niederlanden, Österreich und Belgien. Mit einem Hintergrund in Bildender Kunst, Ballett und Akrobatik bezieht sich Franceschini in ihren Arbeiten auf eine Reihe kulturell verankerter Formate der dramaturgischen Inszenierung, von der Peepshow bis zum Zaubertrick. Dabei interessiert sie sich für die komplexen Dynamiken zwischen Sinnlichkeit und Sexualisierung des weiblichen Körpers, insbesondere im Rahmen körperlicher Tätigkeit. Ihre performative Praxis thematisiert körperliche Arbeit, sexuelles Begehren und Körperbewusstsein.

2015 präsentierte Franceschini ihre erste choreografische Arbeit Baby, welche zusammen mit der Performerin (und häufigen Kollaborateurin) Viktoria Andersson entwickelt wurde und Franceschinis umfangreiche und experimentelle Annäherung an das choreografische Medium zeigte. Die Arbeit basierte nicht nur auf Tanz, sondern auch auf verschiedenen Bereichen der performativen Darstellungsmedien, darunter Rollenspiele, Nachtwanderungen und Karaoke.

Während ihres Aufenthalts bei Callie’s im Jahr 2019 konzipierte Franceschini die Choreografie für ihre Performance Tricks for Gold (T4$), die 2020 in den Sophiensaelen bei den Tanztagen Berlin uraufgeführt wurde. Entwickelt in Zusammenarbeit mit der Kostümbildnerin Lea Kieffer und der Sounddesignerin Ksenija Ladić ist Tricks for Gold (T4$) die Geschichte einer Heldin, die versucht, sich mithilfe von Magie in Geld zu verwandeln. Provokativ und überschwänglich spielt Tricks for Gold (T4$) mit Versinnbildlichungen performativer Arbeit von Frauen – vom Striptease bis zur Assistentin des Magiers – um das Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Begehren, Arbeit und Spätkapitalismus durch die Linse des zeitgenössischen Feminismus zu begutachten und zu konfrontieren.

Im Jahr 2020 realisierte Franceschini die Arbeit HOT MOMS, welche die Schwangerschaft als einen potenziellen Moment der Befreiung betrachtet: Kann Schwangerschaft eine Atempause vom sexualisierten Blick und der Selbstobjektivierung bieten? Franceschini führte die Arbeit, selbst im sechsten Monat schwanger, über eine Webcam aus, entblößte damit ihre Neugierde auf ihren eigenen soziopolitischen Platz in der Welt und erforschte die komplizierte Beziehung zwischen weiblicher Identität, Biologie und Wert.

Die 1987 in Bologna, Italien, geborene Frida Giulia Franceschini ist Performerin, Choreografin und exotische Tänzerin. Mit einem Hintergrund in Bildender Kunst und Ballett studierte sie zeitgenössischen Tanz und Akrobatik in den Niederlanden (Rotterdam Dance Academy), Österreich (S.E.A.D. Salzburg Experimental Academy of Dance) und Belgien. Franceschini hat international mit Künstler:innen und Choreograph:innen zusammengearbeitet, so etwa mit Rita Vilhena, Guilherme Botelho, Dani Brown, Aitana Cordero Vico, Giorgia Ohanesian Nardin, Ola Maciejewska und Isabel Lewis. 2015 präsentierte Franceschini Baby, ein performatives Duo, das in Zusammenarbeit mit der Tänzerin Viktoria Andersson entstand und 2016 Be Water My Friend, eine interaktive Soloperformance mit Live-Musik in Zusammenarbeit mit CM Gratitude und Sophie Vitelli. Im Jahr 2018 erhielt sie das DanceWeb-Stipendium. Im Januar 2020 feierte ihre Arbeit Tricks for Gold (T4$) bei den Tanztagen Berlin Premiere. Gegenwärtig setzt Franceschini ihre Recherchen über den weiblichen Körper in der Ära des Kapitalismus fort. Zuletzt konzipierte sie HOT MOMS, eine offene Befragung zu Schwangerschaft, Objektivierung und Selbstdarstellung.