Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Hamishi Farah
Born 1991 in Melbourne, Australia; lives and works in New York City.

Hamishi Farah is a self-taught artist, writer, and musician. Their practice is defined by a focus on the libidinal afterlife of coloniality and its permeation through contemporary art. Through painting, exhibitions, and writing, Farah excavates the complexity of Black representation, what the artist has referred to as “a site of reality-shaping conflict.”

In their 2020 solo exhibition Antagoni at Los Angeles’ Chateau Shatto, the artist presented five portraits of figures with their faces pigmented or obscured, and one of a yellowjacket wasp. In the paintings Joey and Matthew (both 2020), Farah captures the mugshots of two young white men who, in preparation for a burglary, attempted to conceal their identity by marking their faces with a black permanent marker. In Argyria Blue (the Ghost of Paul Karason) (2020), a blue-tinged figure appears to borrow from the Fauvists’ strident color palette. However, the painting depicts Paul Karason, who began ingesting homemade colloidal silver in 2007 to remedy a number of ailments. The silver turned his skin blue. After becoming a media sensation, Karason was mocked and alienated, and spent the final years of his life homeless.

These works were displayed alongside a second body of work made by the hand of Rachel Dolezal. Dolezal is a controversial self-styled “transracial” American who gained notoriety for passing as Black and for building a life and career on this racial deception. Her compositions exhibit brazen self-pity and remorselessness; the black-and-white charcoal drawing Drowning (2020) is a self-portrait of Dolezal swimming in the ocean, encircled by sharks. In the acrylic painting Back & White Cookie (2020), she wears a headwrap and holds a black-and-white cookie with one bite taken out. The maudlin works were ordered directly from Dolezal via Instagram, signed by Farah, and exhibited as readymades. Dolezal threatened to prosecute over the exhibition, accusing Farah of overreach, unlawful appropriation, and the willful co-opting of an artistic identity—a move that may strike some as ironic. Maneuvering within the exhibition format, Farah created a visual and discursive framework that boldly complicated the terrain of Black representation, leaving its signifiers tangled amidst questions of authorship, presentation, and color.

Farah’s practice is not limited to painting. In 2016, the artist was without explanation detained and eventually deported from Los Angeles International Airport. Farah narrativized the experience in Airport Love Theme, a graphic novel published by Book Works and edited by artist and writer Hannah Black. Airport Love Theme addresses complex subject matter—such as how immigration policies are predicated on neo-colonial hierarchies—with wit and humor. As the artist said in an interview with Tank Magazine, “I am not so interested in addressing power, but I am aware that it will be forced upon me. In the best case humor is a way out of that relation and at least it can be an epistemic resource in spite of it.”

While in residence at Callie’s, Farah worked on paintings for an upcoming exhibition at Christine König Galerie in Vienna. On July 27th, Farah also hosted the fourth iteration of I Miss You Already, an occasional reading series that aims to celebrate community, care, and joyful assembly. Organized in collaboration with writer Harry Burke, the series has been held three times between 2014 and 2016. Farah’s residency at Callie’s followed their recent exhibition at Fri Art Kunsthalle Fribourg, Switzerland, and preceded their relocation to New York.

Hamishi Farah is an artist born in 1991 in Melbourne, Australia. Farah’s graphic novel Airport Love Theme, based on a true story, was published by Book Works in the UK in January 2020. They are also a founding member of the Aotearoa-based rap collective Fanau Spa. Recent solo and two-person exhibitions include Dog Heaven 2: How Sweet the Wound of Jesus Tastes, Fri Art Kunsthalle Fribourg, Fribourg (2021); Antagoni, Chateau Shatto, Los Angeles (2020); white ppl think im radical (with Aria Dean), Arcadia Missa, London (2017); Hamishi, Gertrude Contemporary, Melbourne (2016); Dog Heaven, Moncheri, Brussels (2015); It Didn’t Happen, Minerva, Sydney (2014); Just Paintings (collaboration with Helen Johnson and George Egerton-Warburton), West Space, Melbourne (2014).

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Hamishi Farah
Geboren 1991 in Melbourne, Australien; lebt und arbeitet in New York City, Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika.

Hamishi Farah ist autodidaktische:r Künstler:in, Schriftsteller:in und Musiker:in. Farahs Praxis definiert sich über einen Fokus auf das triebhafte Fortleben von Kolonialität und deren Durchdringung in der zeitgenössischen Kunst. In Malereien, Ausstellungen und Schriftstücken erforscht Farah die Komplexität Schwarzer Repräsentation und bezeichnet diese als „einen Ort des realitätsgestaltenden Konflikts“.

In Farahs Soloausstellung Antagoni (2020) im Chateau Shatto in Los Angeles präsentierte der:die Künstler:in neben dem Porträt einer Wespe fünf Porträts von Figuren, deren Gesichter pigmentiert oder unkenntlich gemacht wurden. In den Gemälden Joey und Matthew (beide 2020) greift Farah die Fahndungsfotos zweier junger weißer Männer auf, die in Vorbereitung eines Einbruchs versuchten, ihre Identität zu verbergen, indem sie ihre Gesichter mit einem schwarzen Permanentmarker bemalten. In Argyria Blue (the Ghost of Paul Karason) (2020) scheint sich das Gesicht eines blau gefärbten Mannes der schrillen Farbpalette der Fauvist:innen zu bedienen. Allerdings stellt das Gemälde Paul Karason dar, der 2007 damit begann, selbst hergestelltes kolloidales Silber einzunehmen, um verschiedene gesundheitliche Probleme zu behandeln. Das Silber färbte seine Haut blau. Nachdem er zur Mediensensation geworden war, wurde Karason verspottet und verbrachte die letzten Jahre seines Lebens obdachlos.

Genannte Arbeiten wurden zusammen mit einer zweiten Werkgruppe ausgestellt, die aus der Hand von Rachel Dolezal stammte. Dolezal ist eine umstrittene, selbsternannte „transracial“ US-Amerikanerin, die Berühmtheit erlangte, weil sie ihr Leben und ihre Karriere auf der Behauptung aufbaute, eine Schwarze Person zu sein. Ihre Kompositionen zeugen von unverfrorenem Selbstmitleid und Gewissenlosigkeit; die schwarz-weiße Kohlezeichnung Drowning (2020) ist etwa ein Selbstporträt Dolezals, das sie von Haien umringt im Meer schwimmend zeigt. Auf dem Acrylgemälde Black & White Cookie (2020) hält sie, Kopftuch tragend, einen angebissenen schwarz-weißen Keks in der Hand. Die rührseligen Werke wurden direkt über Dolezals Instagram-Account gekauft, von Farah signiert und als Readymades ausgestellt. Dolezal drohte wegen der Ausstellung mit einer Klage und beschuldigte Farah der Anmaßung, der unrechtmäßigen Aneignung und der vorsätzlichen Vereinnahmung einer künstlerischen Identität – ein Schritt, der einigen Beobachter:innen ironisch vorkommen mag. Innerhalb des Ausstellungsformats schuf Farah einen visuellen und diskursiven Rahmen, der das Terrain der Repräsentation von Schwarzen kühn verkomplizierte und ihre Signifikanten inmitten von Fragen der Autor:innenschaft, Präsentation und Color aufwühlte.

Farahs Praxis beschränkt sich nicht auf die Malerei. 2016 wurde der:die Künstler:in ohne Angabe von Gründen am internationalen Flughafen von Los Angeles festgehalten und schließlich abgeschoben. Farah verarbeitete diese Erfahrung in Airport Love Theme, einer Graphic Novel, die von Book Works veröffentlicht und von der Künstlerin und Autorin Hannah Black herausgegeben wurde. Airport Love Theme behandelt ein komplexes Netz von Thematiken mit Witz und Humor, etwa auf welche Weise die Einwanderungspolitik auf neokolonialen Hierarchien beruht. In einem Interview mit dem Tank Magazine sagte Farah: „Ich bin nicht so sehr daran interessiert, Macht zu thematisieren, aber ich bin mir bewusst, dass sie mir aufgezwungen wird. Im besten Fall ist Humor ein Ausweg aus diesem Verhältnis und kann trotzdem zumindest eine epistemische Ressource sein“.

Während der Residency bei Callie’s arbeitete Farah an Gemälden für eine bevorstehende Ausstellung in der Christine König Galerie in Wien. Am 27. Juli veranstaltete Farah außerdem die vierte Ausgabe von I Miss You Already, einer gelegentlichen Reihe von Lesungen, die Gemeinschaft, Fürsorge und fröhliches Miteinander feiert. Die Reihe wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schriftsteller Harry Burke organisiert und fand zwischen 2014 und 2016 bereits dreimal statt. Farahs Aufenthalt bei Callie’s folgte auf die jüngste Ausstellung des:der Künstler:in in der Fri Art Kunsthalle in Freiburg, Schweiz, und ging Farahs Umzug nach New York voraus.

Hamishi Farah wurde 1991 in Melbourne, Australien, geboren. Das auf einer wahren Geschichte basierende Graphic Novel Airport Love Theme wurde im Januar 2020 von Book Works in Großbritannien veröffentlicht. Farah ist außerdem ein Gründungsmitglied des in Aotearoa ansässigen Rap-Kollektivs Fanau Spa. Zu Farahs jüngsten Einzel- und Doppelausstellungen gehören Dog Heaven 2: How Sweet the Wound of Jesus Tastes, Fri Art Kunsthalle, Freiburg (2021); Antagoni, Chateau Shatto, Los Angeles (2020); white ppl think im radical (mit Aria Dean), Arcadia Missa, London (2017); Hamishi, Gertrude Contemporary, Melbourne (2016); Dog Heaven, Moncheri, Brüssel (2015); It Didn’t Happen, Minerva, Sydney (2014); Just Paintings (Zusammenarbeit mit Helen Johnson und George Egerton-Warburton), West Space, Melbourne (2014).