Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Marcin Pietruszewski
Born in Gniezno, Poland; lives and works in Berlin.

Marcin Pietruszewski is a genre-defying composer and researcher. With a background in philosophy and linguistics, he experiments with both traditional and conceptual approaches to music composition. Pietruszewski works with digital synthesis and algorithmic composition, often taking techniques from the history of electroacoustic and computer music as his point of departure.

Pietruszewski’s first forays into music came at an early age. His older brother demonstrated a dexterity with programming and coding, which allowed Pietruszewski to turn to the computer as a means to experiment with his first compositions. By the age of seventeen, he was producing sound pieces for a local theatre group in his hometown of Gniezno, Poland. Shortly thereafter, German musician and producer Marcus Schmickler held a workshop in Poland for electronic producers. Pietruszewski applied and was accepted as the youngest participant. Pietruszewski and Schmickler quickly developed a friendship; over time, Schmickler became Pietruszewski’s mentor and frequent collaborator.

Pietruszewski is the creator of New Pulsar Generator (nuPG), a program designed to synthesize microsounds. Microsounds are barely perceptible because of their short durations, which range from several hundred microseconds (one millionth of a second) up to about 100 milliseconds (one thousandth of a second). Pietruszewski describes the nuPG program as a sieve that captures these miniscule segments of sound and transforms them into audible textures and rhythmic structures.

Pietruszewski’s electronic experiments insist on sound’s place within histories of technology, culture and science. In an interview with The Wire, Pietruszewski explained, “I’m more and more interested in thinking about sound synthesis techniques as cultural objects: windows into technological, historical, aesthetic and discursive contexts.” In his 2016 book Against Ambience, Seth Kim-Cohen argued that sound art has always been critically understood through an experiential lens that emphasizes sound’s physicality at the expense of its conceptual and linguistic depth. Though deeply material, Pietruszewski’s compositions refuse to be understood on purely formal terms.

As a sound studio resident, Pietruszewski will be working on a new composition commissioned by CTM Festival, which will premiere as an audio installation at the Berlin events space VOLLGUTLAGER in September. He will also be working on the production of a new record, The New Pulsar Generator Volume 2, which involves collaborative recording sessions.

Born in Poland in 1984, Marcin Pietruszewski is a composer and researcher. He works independently and in collaboration with artists such as Marcus Schmickler, Florian Hecker, Jules Rawlinson, Lauren Sarah Hayes, and BOAR collective. He has recently released three records in 2020: The New Pulsar Generator Volume One(fancyyyyy), Auditory Sieve (ETAT) and Groups: Articulations of the Real (Superpang).

Pietruszewski also has experience as an educator, teaching courses on digital instrument design, digital signal processing, and sound theory. He has taught at The Reid School of Music at the Edinburgh College of Art and The University of Edinburgh’s Design Informatics program. His texts on computer music histories, aesthetics, and technology have been published by institutions including Hatje Cantz and the ZKM|Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe.

Currently, Pietruszewski is a Research Fellow at the Northumbria University’s Department of Computation and Information Sciences in Newcastle, UK. His research focuses on the design and theory of computational auditory models and the sonification of scientific data. Pietruszewski lives and works in Berlin.

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Marcin Pietruszewski
Geboren in Gniezno, Polen; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Marcin Pietruszewski ist ein genreübergreifender Komponist und Researcher mit einem akademischen Hintergrund in Philosophie und Linguistik. Pietruszewski experimentiert sowohl mit traditionellen als auch konzeptionellen Ansätzen der Musikkomposition. Für die von ihm genutzten digitalen Synthesen und algorithmischen Kompositionen nimmt er oft historische Techniken aus der elektroakustischen und der Computermusik zum Ausgangspunkt.

Pietruszewski kam bereits in jungen Jahren mit der Musik in Berührung. Sein älterer Bruder war früh ein geschickter Programmierer und Coder, was Pietruszewski erlaubte, Computer zum Experimentieren mit seinen ersten Kompositionen zu nutzen. Mit siebzehn Jahren produzierte er bereits Klangstücke für eine lokale Theatergruppe in seiner Heimatstadt Gniezno, Polen. Als der deutsche Musiker und Produzent Marcus Schmickler wenig später einen Workshop für Elektronikproduzent:innen in Polen gab, bewarb sich Pietruszewski und wurde als jüngster Teilnehmer angenommen. Zwischen Pietruszewski und Schmickler entwickelte sich schnell eine Freundschaft und im Laufe der Zeit wurde Schmickler zu Pietruszewskis Mentor und häufigem Kollaborateur.

Pietruszewski ist Entwickler des New Pulsar Generator (nuPG), einem Programm zur Synthese von Mikrotönen. Aufgrund ihrer kurzen Dauer, die von einigen hundert Mikrosekunden (ein Millionstel einer Sekunde) bis zu etwa 100 Millisekunden (ein Tausendstel einer Sekunde) reicht, sind Mikrotöne kaum wahrnehmbar. Pietruszewski beschreibt das Programm nuPG als ein Sieb, das diese winzigen Klangsegmente auffängt und in hörbare Texturen und rhythmische Strukturen umwandelt.

Pietruszewskis elektronische Experimente verdeutlichen den Stellenwert von Sound innerhalb der Geschichte von Technologie, Kultur und Wissenschaft. In einem Interview mit The Wire erklärte Pietruszewski: „Ich bin mehr und mehr daran interessiert, über Klangsynthesetechniken als kulturelle Objekte nachzudenken: als Fenster in technologische, historische, ästhetische und diskursive Kontexte.“ In seinem 2016 erschienenen Buch Against Ambience argumentierte Seth Kim-Cohen, dass Klangkunst schon immer kritisch durch eine erfahrungsorientierte Linse verstanden wurde, die die Körperlichkeit des Klangs auf Kosten seiner konzeptionellen und sprachlichen Tiefe betont. Obwohl Pietruszewskis Kompositionen zutiefst materiell sind, verweigern sie sich einer rein formalistischen Interpretationsweise.

Als Resident im Sound Studio arbeitet Pietruszewski an einer neuen Komposition für das CTM Festival, die im September als Audioinstallation im Berliner Veranstaltungsraum VOLLGUTLAGER uraufgeführt werden soll. Außerdem arbeitet er an der Produktion eines neuen Albums, The New Pulsar Generator Volume 2, das kollaborative Aufnahme-Sessions einbezieht.

Marcin Pietruszewski, 1984 in Polen geboren, ist Komponist und Researcher. Er arbeitet sowohl unabhängig und als auch in Kollaboration mit Künstler:innen wie Marcus Schmickler, Florian Hecker, Jules Rawlinson, Lauren Sarah Hayes und dem BOAR collective. 2020 erschienen drei neue Platten : The New Pulsar Generator Volume One (fancyyyy), Auditory Sieve (ETAT) und Groups: Articulations of the Real (Superpang).

Pietruszewski unterrichtet Kurse zu digitalem Instrumentendesign, digitaler Signalverarbeitung und Klangtheorie. Er hat an der Reid School of Music am Edinburgh College of Art und am Design Informatics Programm der University of Edinburgh gelehrt. Seine Texte zur Geschichte, Ästhetik und Technologie der Computermusik wurden unter anderem von Hatje Cantz und dem ZKM|Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe veröffentlicht.

Derzeit ist Pietruszewski Research Fellow am Department of Computation and Information Sciences der Northumbria University in Newcastle, UK. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind Design und Theorie von computergestützten Hörmodellen und die Sonifikation von wissenschaftlichen Daten. Pietruszewski lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.