Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Timo Feldhaus
Born 1980 in Quakenbrück, Germany; lives and works in Berlin.

Timo Feldhaus is a writer and cultural critic who has lived in Berlin for over 15 years, witnessing and tracing a period of transition in the city. During that time, he has become known for his incisive writing, whose diverse subjects encompass art, music, literature, fashion, and political and social concerns.

From 2014 to 2016, Feldhaus served as an editor at Spike, developing and overseeing the art magazine’s influential and provocative online platform. Following this role, Feldhaus became Editor-in-Chief for the Volksbühne, where he published videos and interviews that explored the role of the theatre in contemporary life. In 2019, he worked with Wolfgang Tillmans on his influential Vote Together campaign, which highlighted the value and importance of the European Union. In 2019 and 2020 he was editor at the German weekly newspaper Der Freitag. Feldhaus articles and essays have appeared in Monopol, Süddeutsche Zeitung, De:bug, 032c, and Frieze, among other outlets.

During his residency at Callie’s, Feldhaus will finish writing his first novel, Year Without Summer. The book’s jumping-off point is the 1815 eruption of Mount Tambora in Indonesia, the largest volcanic eruption in recorded history. The eruption caused a global climate anomaly: as much of the northern hemisphere was plunged into darkness, temperatures dropped drastically, and summer saw frosts and snow. The loss of crops and cattle generated the most extensive famine in the 19th century, which resulted in over 90,000 deaths. The 1810s remains the coldest decade on record. This period of turbulence and existential uncertainty gave rise to a particular kind of speculative art-making. Most famously, Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein—generally regarded as the world’s first science fiction novel—while spending this period on Lake Geneva. Feldhaus describes his ambitious book as “a historical panorama at the apex of the first climate catastrophe of modern times.” Year Without Summer will be published by Rowohlt Verlag in 2022.

Timo Feldhaus was born in 1980 in Quakenbrück, Germany. He obtained his master’s degree in literature, sociology, and comparative literature at the Freie Universität Berlin in 2010. Following his graduation, he began working as a writer, critic, and editor. Feldhaus developed an influential online platform for the art magazine Spike, where he served as editor until 2016. In 2017, he became Editor-in-Chief for the Volksbühne Berlin. In 2019 and 2020 he was editor at the German weekly newspaper Der Freitag. His forthcoming novel, Year Without Summer, will be published by Rowohlt Verlag in 2022. Feldhaus lives and works in Berlin.

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Timo Feldhaus
Geboren 1980 in Quakenbrück, Deutschland; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Deutschland.

Geboren 1980 in Quakenbrück, Deutschland; lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Timo Feldhaus ist Journalist und Schriftsteller. Er lebt seit über 20 Jahren in Berlin und hat den Wandel der Stadt miterlebt und begleitet. In dieser Zeit ist er für seine pointierten Texte bekannt geworden, deren vielfältige Themen Kunst, Musik, Literatur, Mode sowie politische und soziale Belange umfassen. Von 2014 bis 2016 war Feldhaus Redakteur bei Spike Art Quarterly, deren einflussreiche und provokative Online-Plattform er entwickelte und betreute. Im Anschluss an diese Rolle wurde Feldhaus Chefredakteur für die Volksbühne, wo er Videos, Texte und Interviews publizierte, die die Rolle des Theaters im zeitgenössischen Leben untersuchten. 2019 arbeitete er mit Wolfgang Tillmans an dessen einflussreicher Vote Together-Kampagne, die den Wert und die Bedeutung der Europäischen Union thematisierte. Bis 2020 war er Redakteur der deutschen Wochenzeitung Der Freitag. Feldhaus’ Artikel und Essays sind unter anderem in der Monopol, der Süddeutschen Zeitung, De:bug, 032c und Frieze erschienen.

Während seiner Residency bei Callie’s arbeitet Feldhaus an der Fertigstellung seines ersten Buches Mary Shelleys Zimmer. Ausgangspunkt des Romans ist der Ausbruch des Mount Tambora in Indonesien im Jahr 1815, der größte Vulkanausbruch in der aufgezeichneten Geschichte. Die Eruption verursachte eine globale Klimaanomalie: Ein Großteil der nördlichen Hemisphäre wurde in Dunkelheit getaucht, die Temperaturen fielen drastisch, und es gab Frost und Schnee mitten im Sommer. Der Verlust von Ernten und Vieh führte zur größten Hungersnot des 19. Jahrhunderts mit über 90.000 Todesopfern. Die 1810er Jahre bleiben das kälteste Jahrzehnt in den Aufzeichnungen. Diese Zeit der Turbulenzen und der existenziellen Unsicherheit führte zu einer besonderen Art von spekulativem Kunstschaffen. Am wohl bekanntesten ist Mary Shelley, die in dieser Zeit am Genfer See Frankenstein schrieb, der allgemein als der erste Science-Fiction-Roman der Welt gilt. Feldhaus beschreibt sein ambitioniertes Buch als „ein historisches Panorama auf dem Höhepunkt der ersten Klimakatastrophe der Neuzeit.“ Mary Shelleys Zimmer wird 2022 im Rowohlt Verlag erscheinen.

Timo Feldhaus wurde 1980 in Quakenbrück, Deutschland, geboren. Er absolvierte sein Magisterstudium der Literaturwissenschaft, Soziologie und Komparatistik an der Freien Universität Berlin im Jahr 2010. Nach seinem Abschluss begann er als Autor, Kritiker und Redakteur zu arbeiten. Feldhaus entwickelte die einflussreiche Online-Plattform des Kunstmagazins Spike Art Quarterly, wo er bis 2016 als Redakteur tätig war. Ab 2017 arbeitete er für die Berliner Volksbühne. Bis 2000 war er Redakteur bei der deutschen Wochenzeitung Der Freitag. Sein Roman Mary Shelleys Zimmer erscheint 2022 im Rowohlt Verlag. Feldhaus lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.