Menu
Open tomorrow at 14:00
FAQ
These are the most common questions we receive about our residency program and about Callie’s in general. If your question is not listed here, please write to us at residency@callies.berlin and we’ll get back to you.
Residency
“Is there a word limit for the application form?”
Triangle
There is no word limit for the application form. If you compose your responses directly into the PDF, each text field will generate a scrolling bar to accommodate your reply. However, if you prefer, you may complete your responses in a separate document and include it with your application.
“When should I apply?”
Triangle
You can apply for a residency at Callie’s at any time; the residency program has no application deadlines.
“I’m having trouble filling out the application form PDF, what should I do?”
Triangle
If you have difficulties completing the form, it is also possible to answer the questions in a separate document and attach it to your email when you submit your application. If you have problems opening the application form, try opening it in a PDF reader. For more assistance you can contact us at residency@callies.berlin.
“How long until I hear back about my application?”
Triangle
We do our best to share feedback on your application within two weeks. However, we kindly ask for your patience and will contact you in case of unexpected delays.
“What is a self-guided residency?”
Triangle
A residency at Callie’s has no internal markers for success or productivity. Artists-in-residence are free in the way they organize their time. We believe in slowing down and staying flexible; for those selected to participate in the program, there are no associated obligations. We ask applicants to clarify their hopes for their stay, and we try to help our residents achieve their goals, whatever those may be.
“What languages are spoken at Callie’s?”
Triangle
Our international team speaks a variety of languages: English, German, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, Russian, Bosnian, as well as some French and Greek. We are studying Arabic and Dutch. We will be happy to assist you in any of these languages.
“How many residents are there at Callie’s?”
Triangle
Most of the spaces at Callie’s are flexible and can accommodate studios or exhibitions; for this reason the number of residents varies depending on our programming. We typically host at least 5 residents at a given time.
“Are there production facilities at Callie’s?”
Triangle
There are currently no specialized workshops at Callie’s, such as welding, silk-screening, or glass-blowing. However, for most production needs we can help you find a suitable solution in Berlin.
“Are my belongings insured in the studio?”
Triangle
Our studios are secured with a reliable alarm system. Unfortunately we cannot offer insurance for your valuables or art works while they are in the studio and ask that you insure your personal effects yourself. Should you have any questions or need advice, we will be happy to help you.
“Are there any commitments that go along with the residency at Callie’s?”
Triangle
We believe in the principle of “self-guidance” and that the creative process can best be developed outside of a predetermined framework. Therefore, we do not set expectations and there are no requirements. We stay in an open exchange with our residents during their stay. Should the desire for engagement arise, we are happy to discuss ideas.
“Is there an application fee or any costs associated with the residency?”
Triangle
No, there is no fee and no costs associated with the residency. There is no fee to stay in the micro-apartments. It is very important to us to keep the residency accessible to artists from all backgrounds.
“If I am not an artist can I still apply for a studio residency?”
Triangle
Yes. In addition to its programs for visual artists, Callie’s offers opportunities for musicians, composers, choreographers, writers, poets and researchers. Even if you fall outside of these categories we encourage you to apply. We believe in a broad definition of the arts, a fruitful exchange between the disciplines, and look forward to receiving applications from all fields of creative practice.
“Can several people apply to share one studio space?”
Triangle
Callie’s welcomes both individual artists and collectives of any size, as well as collaborative projects. If multiple artists that do not collaborate would like to apply together to share a studio, we encourage you to describe in your application your motivation for applying together rather than separately.
“Can collectives apply for a studio space at Callie’s?”
Triangle
Yes, both individual artists and collectives are invited to apply, as well as collaborators who do not officially recognize themselves as a collective.
“Are there fixed dates or durations for a residency at Callie’s?”
Triangle
Just as for the application procedure, there is no fixed timeframes for the residencies themselves. It is important to us to tailor the residencies according to our residents’ needs. In question #9 in the application document, you may indicate your ideal time frame or dates.
“Does Callie’s offer accomodation?”
Triangle
Callie’s has three micro-apartments for visiting artists. If you need accommodation in order to participate in the residency, please indicate this in your application document in question #8. You can find out more about our micro-apartments here.
“Can I bring my partner or my family to stay with me in a micro-apartment?”
Triangle
It is generally possible to bring a partner or family member with you with advance warning. However, it should be noted that the micro-apartments are designed for a maximum of two people due to their small size and two-story layout, and they are not ideal for children. If you would like to have your family join you, please indicate this in your application form and we will work with you to figure out a comfortable solution.
“Does Callie’s provide funding for materials, airfare to Berlin, per diem once I am there, or for anything else?”
Triangle
In some cases Callie’s does provide financial support to residents. If you need funding, please outline your budget in your application form at question #10.
“What is the difference between a studio residency, a residency with a sprung floor, a residency in the Sound Studio, and the Writer’s Room?”
Triangle
A studio residency gives residents access to more than 160m2 of private studio space. If you work in movement and would benefit from a sprung floor, we recommend you select “Artist-in-Residence (Sprung Floor)” on your application. The studio with the sprung floor is identical to the others except for this feature. It is also private. Because our studios are not accoustically treated, we developed the Sound Studio as a place to welcome practitioners working in sound. At any given time it has 2-5 residents who reserve time in the space using a shared calendar system. We make sure that the Sound Studio is never at capacity and thus far we have not experienced any scheduling conflicts. If you are a writer or are working on a writing or research project you can apply for a residency in the Writer’s Room. This is a private space that is much smaller than the studios and is designed for concentration.
General
“Do you rent studio space?”
Triangle
Our studios are given to artists within the framework of residencies; there are no charges and no associated fees. We do not rent our studios on a monthly basis or for longer periods. In rare cases we may rent out studios on a short-term basis to fundraise to support our program. If you are interested in hosting an event or photoshoot at Callie’s, please contact us at office@callies.berlin.
“Do you accept exhibition proposals?”
Triangle
We do not accept exhibition proposals.
“Can I rent exhibition space?”
Triangle
Any exhibitions on view at Callie’s are developed by our staff in collaboration with the artists. We neither rent exhibition space nor host unaffiliated exhibitions.
“Are there any job openings at Callie’s?”
Triangle
We don’t have any openings at this time but please follow us on social media (@calliesberlin); we post all job openings there.
“Can I intern at Callie’s?”
Triangle
Callie’s only offers a few internships a year and our interns are always paid for their work. If you would like to intern at Callie’s please send your CV and letter of interest to office@callies.berlin.
Group 3
Group 3

Menü
vorübergehend geschlossen
en /
[
DE
]
FAQ
Hier findest Du Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen, die wir zu unserem Residency-Programm und Callie’s bekommen. Solltest Du hier nicht die Antwort auf Deine Frage finden, kontaktiere uns bitte unter residency@callies.berlin und wir melden uns gern bei Dir zurück.
Residency-Programm
„Gibt es eine begrenzte Wortanzahl für das Bewerbungsformular?“
Triangle
Es gibt keine begrenzte Wortanzahl für das Bewerbungsformular. Wenn Du Deine Antworten direkt in die PDF-Datei eingibst, passt sich jedes Textfeld der Länge Deiner Antwort automatisch an. Du kannst die Fragen aber auch in einem separaten Dokument (Word, PDF) beantworten und dieses Deiner Bewerbung beilegen.
„Wann muss ich mich bewerben?“
Triangle
Du kannst Dich jederzeit für das Residency-Programm bewerben. Es gibt keine Bewerbungsfrist.
„Ich habe Probleme beim Ausfüllen des Bewerbungsformulars, was soll ich tun?“
Triangle
Wenn Du Schwierigkeiten beim Ausfüllen des Formulars hast, ist es ebenfalls möglich, die Fragen in einem separaten Dokument (Word, PDF) zu beantworten und dieses mit der Bewerbung einzureichen. Wenn Du Probleme hast, das Bewerbungsformular zu öffnen, probiere es mit einem PDF-Reader. Für weitere Unterstützung kannst Du uns unter residency@callies.berlin kontaktieren.
„Wie lange muss ich warten, um eine Antwort auf meine Bewerbung zu erhalten?“
Triangle
Wir tun unser Bestes, um Dir innerhalb von zwei Wochen eine Rückmeldung zu Deiner Bewerbung zu geben. Wir bitten jedoch um Geduld, falls es länger dauern sollte; wir werden Dich bei unerwarteten Verzögerungen kontaktieren.
„Was ist ein selbstbestimmtes Residency-Programm?“
Triangle
Ein Aufenthalt bei Callie’s hat keinen internen Leistungsmaßstab für Erfolg oder Produktivität. Artists-in-Residence sind frei in der Art und Weise, wie sie ihre Zeit gestalten. Wir glauben an die Bedeutung von Prozessentschleunigung und Flexibiliät; für diejenigen, die eine Residency absolvieren, gibt es keine damit verbundenen Verpflichtungen. Callie’s macht die Produktion neuer Arbeiten nicht zur Voraussetzung. Wir sprechen mit unseren Bewerber:innen über die Ziele für ihren Aufenthalt und unterstützen unsere Artists-in-Residence bei der Umsetzung dieser Ziele.
„Welche Sprachen werden bei Callie’s gesprochen?“
Triangle
Unser internationales Team spricht eine Vielzahl von Sprachen: Englisch, Deutsch, Italienisch, Spanisch, Katalanisch, Russisch, Bosnisch sowie ein bisschen Französisch und Griechisch. Wir lernen Arabisch und Niederländisch. Gern unterstützen wir Dich in jeder dieser Sprachen.
„Wie viele Artists-in-Residence gibt es bei Callie’s?“
Triangle
Die meisten Räumlichkeiten bei Callie’s sind flexibel und eignen sich sowohl als Ateliers als auch als Ausstellungsräume; aus diesem Grund variiert die Anzahl der Artists-in-Residence je nach Programmschwerpunkt. In der Regel haben wir parallel mindestens fünf Residents.
„Gibt es Produktionsstätten bei Callie’s?“
Triangle
Derzeit gibt es bei Callie’s keine spezialisierten Werkstätten wie Schweiß-, Siebdruck- oder Glaswerkstätten. Wir stehen Dir jedoch gern zur Seite und können für die meisten Produktionsbedürfnisse eine passende Lösung in Berlin zu finden.
„Sind meine persönlichen Gegenstände im Atelier versichert?“
Triangle
Unsere Ateliers sind mit einer zuverlässigen Alarmanlage gesichert. Leider können wir keine Versicherung für Deine Wertsachen oder Kunstwerke im Atelier ermöglichen und bitten Dich daher, Deine persönlichen Gegenstände selbst zu versichern. Solltest Du Fragen haben oder Rat benötigen, helfen wir Dir gerne weiter.
„Gibt es Verpflichtungen, die mit einer Residency bei Callie’s einhergehen?“
Triangle
Wir glauben an das Prinzip der „Selbstbestimmung“ und daran, dass kreative Prozesse sich am besten außerhalb vorgegebener Rahmen entfalten. Daher setzen wir keine Erwartungen und verzichten auf Vorgaben. Wir bleiben während Deines Aufenthalts in einem offenen Austausch mit Dir. Solltest Du den Wunsch nach Beteiligung an unserem Programm haben, kommen wir gern über Ideen ins Gespräch.
„Gibt es eine Anmeldegebühr oder Kosten im Zusammenhang mit der Residency?“
Triangle
Nein, es gibt keine Gebühr und keine Kosten, die mit der Residency verbunden sind. Der Aufenthalt in den Micro-Apartments ist kostenfrei. Es ist uns sehr wichtig, die Residency für eine diverse Gruppe von Künstler:innen mit allen Hintergründen zugänglich zu machen.
„Wenn ich kein:e bildende:r Künstler:in bin, kann ich mich trotzdem für das Residency-Programm bewerben?“
Triangle
Ja. Zusätzlich zu unseren Angeboten für bildende Künstler:innen bieten wir Optionen für Musiker:innen, Komponist:innen, Choreograph:innen, Schriftsteller:innen, Dichter:innen und Forscher:innen an. Auch wenn Du außerhalb dieser Kategorien aktiv bist, empfehlen wir Dir, Dich zu bewerben. Wir glauben an eine breite Definition der Künste, einen fruchtbaren Austausch zwischen den Disziplinen und freuen uns auf Bewerbungen aus allen Bereichen der kreativen Praxis.
„Können sich mehrere Personen gemeinsam bewerben, um sich ein Atelier zu teilen?“
Triangle
Callie’s begrüßt sowohl Einzelkünstler:innen, als auch Künstler:innenkollektive jeder Größe, ebenso wie Kooperationen mehrerer Einzelkünstler:innen. Wenn sich mehrere Einzelkünstler:innen, die normalerweise nicht zusammenarbeiten, gemeinsam für ein Atelier bewerben möchten, empfehlen wir Euch eine gemeinsame Bewerbung einzureichen und Euren Wunsch für die Zusammenarbeit zu erläutern.
„Können sich Künstler:innenkollektive auf ein Atelier bei Callie’s bewerben?“
Triangle
Ja, sowohl Einzelkünstler:innen, als auch Künstler:innenkollektive jeder Größe oder Kooperationen mehrerer Einzelkünstler:innen, die normalerweise nicht zusammenarbeiten, können sich für eine Residency bewerben.
„Gibt es Fixtermine oder hat das Residency-Programm bei Callie’s eine bestimmte Dauer?“
Triangle
Genau wie für das Bewerbungsverfahren gibt es auch für die Residencies keine festen Zeitrahmen. Es ist uns wichtig, die Aufenthalte nach den Bedürfnissen unserer Residents zu gestalten. In Frage #9 des Bewerbungsdokuments kannst Du Deinen idealen Zeitrahmen oder Deine Wunschtermine angeben.
„Bietet Callie’s Unterkünfte an?“
Triangle
Callie’s ist mit drei Micro-Apartments ausgestattet, die wir Artists-in-Residence zur Verfügung stellen. Wenn Du eine Unterkunft benötigst, um am Residency-Programm teilnehmen zu können, gib dies bitte in Deinem Bewerbungsformular unter Frage #8 an. Mehr Information über unsere Micro-Apartments findest Du hier.
„Kann ich meine:n Partner:in oder meine Familie mitbringen, um bei mir in einem Micro-Apartment zu wohnen?“
Triangle
Generell ist es möglich, eine:n Partner:in oder ein Familienmitglied nach vorheriger Absprache mitzubringen. Bitte beachte jedoch, dass die Micro-Apartments aufgrund ihrer geringen Größe und ihres zweistöckigen Grundrisses für maximal zwei Personen ausgelegt und für Kinder nicht geeignet sind. Wenn Du Deine Familie mitbringen möchtest, gib dies bitte in Deinem Bewerbungsformular an und wir werden uns bemühen, mit Dir zusammen eine komfortable Lösung zu finden.
„Finanziert Callie’s meine Arbeitsmaterialien, den Flug nach Berlin, per diems während des Aufenthalts oder übernimmt andere Kosten?“
Triangle
In einigen Fällen bietet Callie’s finanzielle Unterstützung für Artists-in-Residence. Wenn Du Hilfe bei der Finanzierung benötigst, gib bitte Dein Budget in Deinem Bewerbungsformular unter Frage #10 an.
„Was ist der Unterschied zwischen einer Studio-Residency, einer Residency mit Schwingboden, einer Residency im Sound Studio und einer Residency im Writer’s Room?“
Triangle
Eine Studio-Residency bietet den Residents Zugang zu privaten Ateliers von mehr als 160 m2 Größe. Wenn Du mit Bewegung arbeitest und von einem Schwingboden profitieren möchtest, empfehlen wir Dir, in Deiner Bewerbung „Artist-in-Residence (Studio mit Schwingboden)“ auszuwählen. Das Atelier mit Tanzboden ist bis auf diese Funktion identisch mit den anderen. Es ist ebenfalls privat. Da unsere Ateliers nicht akustisch gedämmt sind, haben wir das Sound Studio als Ort entwickelt, den Künstler:innen nutzen können, die mit Klang arbeiten. Das Sound Studio kann zeitgleich von 2-5 Artists-in-Residence mittels eines gemeinsamen Kalenders genutzt werden. Wenn Du Schriftsteller:in bist oder an einem Schreib- oder Rechercheprojekt arbeitest, kannst Du Dich für einen Aufenthalt im Writer’s Room bewerben. Dies ist ein privater Raum, der auf Konzentration ausgelegt ist. Er ist deutlich kleiner als unsere Ateliers.
Allgemeines
„Vermietet Callie’s Ateliers?“
Triangle
Unsere Ateliers werden im Rahmen von Residencies an Künstler:innen vergeben; es fallen keine damit verbundenen Gebühren an. Wir vermieten unsere Ateliers weder monatlich noch über längere Zeiträume. In seltenen Fällen können wir Ateliers kurzfristig vermieten, um Geld zur Unterstützung unseres Programms zu sammeln. Wenn Du gern eine Veranstaltung oder ein Fotoshooting bei Callie’s organisieren würdest, kontaktiere uns bitte unter office@callies.Berlin.
„Akzeptiert Callie’s Ausstellungsvorschläge?“
Triangle
Wir akzeptieren keine Ausstellungsvorschläge.
„Kann ich Ausstellungsflächen mieten?“
Triangle
Alle Ausstellungen, die bei Callie’s zu sehen sind, werden von unserem Team in Zusammenarbeit mit den Artists-in-Residence entwickelt. Wir vermieten weder Ausstellungsflächen, noch veranstalten wir Ausstellungen, die nicht mit Callie’s im Zusammenhang stehen.
„Gibt es Stellenangebote bei Callie’s?“
Triangle
Wir haben derzeit keine offenen Stellenangebote. Folge uns aber gern auf unseren Social Media (@calliesberlin); wir veröffentlichen dort alle Stellenausschreibungen.
„Kann ich bei Callie’s ein Praktikum absolvieren?“
Triangle
Callie’s bietet nur ein paar Praktika pro Jahr an, wobei all unsere Praktikant:innen für ihre Arbeit entlohnt werden. Wenn Du bei Callie’s ein Praktikum machen möchtest, sende Deinen Lebenslauf und Dein Motivationsschreiben bitte an office@callies.berlin.
Group 3
Group 3