Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Concert
Andrea Belfi:
Eternally Frozen
Saturday, March 26, 8 PM

Please join us on Saturday, March 26th at 8pm for the world premiere of Eternally Frozen, a new composition for brass ensemble, percussion, and synthesizer by musician and artist-in-residence Andrea Belfi.

For Eternally Frozen, Belfi has adopted the medieval compositional technique of the canon: a pattern in which an initial melody is imitated at specified intervals, creating the impression of a never-ending melodic journey. Belfi’s experimental percussive passages alternate with brass sections and electronic components to create a body of work that unites anachronistic techniques with diverse musical styles like Dub and Pastorale.

Eternally Frozen was inspired by a discovery Belfi made while visiting the Museum of Jurassic Technology in Los Angeles. There, he encountered the story of the Deprong Mori, a mythological bat indigenous to South America that could allegedly fly through solid matter by using audio echolocation to bend atoms. In 1952, a Rockefeller University researcher reported having trapped one of these bats in a wall of solid lead. Eternally frozen in heavy metal, the creatures’s presence in the Museum exemplifies our fascination with fantasy, myths, and half-truths.

Informed by years of sonic exploration with percussion, drums, and electronics, Belfi composed this unique piece and will perform on drums, percussion and synthesizer, together with Robin Hayward on tuba, Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø on trombone, and Elena Margarita Kakailogu on french horn. The work draws on musical predecessors including Arthur Russell, Miles Davis, Moondog, William Basinski, and the Italian soundtrack traditions of Ennio Morricone and Egisto Macchi.


Funded by Musikfonds e.V. by means of the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media (BKM), as part of the NEUSTART KULTUR recovery programme.

Special thanks to the Museum of Jurassic Technology, Los Angeles.

The event is fully booked.

Saturday, March 26th, 8pm

Location: Callie’s, Lindower Str. 20.

Tickets: 10€

Tickets are available through the form below.

Kindly note that this event follows 2G+ rules. Please bring proof of full vaccination, as well as a negative Covid test from the past 24 hours, or proof of recovery, or proof of booster vaccination.

Wearing an FFP2 mask is mandatory inside the venue.

About the artist

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Konzert
Andrea Belfi:
Eternally Frozen
Samstag, 26. März, 20:00

Am Samstag, den 26. März um 20 Uhr, präsentiert Callie’s die Weltpremiere von Eternally Frozen, eine neue Komposition für Blechblasensemble, Schlagzeug und Synthesizer des Musikers und Artist-in-Residence Andrea Belfi.

Mit Eternally Frozen greift Belfi auf die mittelalterliche Kompositionstechnik des Kanons zurück: ein musikalisches Muster, bei dem eine anfängliche Melodie in bestimmten Abständen wiederholt wird und damit den Eindruck einer illusionären, nie endenden melodischen Reise erweckt. Belfis experimentelle perkussive Passagen wechseln sich mit Bläsersätzen und elektronischen Komponenten ab und erschaffen so ein Werk, das anachronistische Techniken mit Musikstilen wie Dub und Pastorale miteinander verbindet.

Eternally Frozen wurde von einer Entdeckung inspiriert, die Belfi bei einem Besuch des Museum of Jurassic Technology in Los Angeles machte. Dort stieß er auf die Geschichte der Deprong Mori, einer in Südamerika beheimateten mythologischen Fledermaus, die vermeintlich durch feste Materie fliegen konnte, indem sie mittels Echoortung Atome verbog. Im Jahr 1952 berichtete ein Forscher der Rockefeller University, er habe eine dieser Fledermäuse in einer Wand aus massivem Blei gefangen. Die im Museum ausgestellte Fledermaus, auf ewig in Schwermetall eingefroren, ist ein Beispiel für unsere Faszination für Fantasie, Mythen und Halbwahrheiten.

Belfi komponierte dieses einzigartige Stück, welches er bei Callie’s gemeinsam mit Robin Hayward (Tuba), Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø (Posaune) und Elena Margarita Kakailogu (Waldhorn) präsentieren wird, auf der Grundlage jahrelanger klanglicher Erkundungen mit Schlagzeug, Perkussion und Elektronik. Das Werk greift auf musikalische Vorbilder wie Arthur Russell, Miles Davis, Moondog, William Basinski und die italienischen Soundtrack-Traditionen von Ennio Morricone und Egisto Macchi zurück.


Das Projekt wird vom Musikfonds e.V. aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Rahmen des Förderprogramms NEUSTART KULTUR gefördert.

Besonderer Dank gilt dem Museum of Jurassic Technology, Los Angeles.

Das Konzert ist ausverkauft.

Samstag, 26. März, 20 Uhr

Ort: Callie’s, Lindower Str. 20.

Tickets: 10€

Tickets sind über das untenstehende Formular erhältlich.

Diese Veranstaltung folgt den 2G+ Regeln. Bitte bring Deinen Impfpass sowie einen der folgenden Nachweise mit: einen negativen Covid-Test nicht älter als 24 Stunden, einen Genesenennachweis oder einen Nachweis der Auffrischungsimpfung.

Das Tragen einer FFP2-Maske am Veranstaltungsort ist verpflichtend.

Über den Künstler