Menu
The residency is active
[
EN
]
/ de
Panel Discussion
Katharine Halls, Alia Mossallam and Edwin Nasr on Alaa Abd el-Fattah
Wednesday, April 27, 6 PM

Join us on Wednesday, April 27th for a conversation between scholar Alia Mossallam and writer Edwin Nasr, moderated by translator and Callie’s resident Katharine Halls. The participants will come together to discuss Alaa Abd el-Fattah’s first translated anthology, You Have Not Yet Been Defeated: Selected Works 2011-2021.

You Have Not Yet Been Defeated assembles the first translations of Alaa Abd el-Fattah’s writings into English, including essays, social media posts, and interviews. Rising to prominence through his writing and activism during the Egyptian revolution of 2011, Alaa is perhaps Egypt’s most high-profile political prisoner. Embodying the voice of a generation that has been defined by struggle against a failing system, Alaa’s writings present a prescient account of the frontlines of a decade of upheaval, while drawing a roadmap for revolution in our technocratic era. The panel discussion will explore the revolutionary potential of Alaa’s writings and his ongoing struggle while incarcerated.

Alia Mossallam is a postdoctoral fellow at the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in Berlin. Her main academic inquiry has been centred on how history, especially of resistance, can be re-imagined and re-written through the ranks of the verbal, the sung, and more broadly, the vernacular. Her PhD thesis covered the period between 1956 and 1974, which marked formative post-colonial struggles and their most contemporary embodiment in the Arab-Israeli wars.

Edwin Nasr is a writer and cultural practitioner based between Amsterdam and Berlin. Their recent essays have explored cinematic modes of production in the Arab region, the geopolitics of image-making, and decolonial praxis and aesthetics. They are currently a fellow at De Appel in Amsterdam, and a curator at CCA Berlin. Their writing has recently appeared in Afterall Journal, n+1, The Funambulist, and Bidoun.

Katharine Halls is an Arabic-to-English translator. She is the recipient of a 2021 PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant for her translation of Haytham El-Wardany’s Things That Can’t Be Fixed. In 2017, Halls was awarded the 2017 Sheikh Hamad Award for Translation for her translation, with Adam Talib, of The Dove’s Necklace by Saudi author Raja Alem. Learn more about Katharine Halls.

Wednesday, April 27th, 6pm

At a.p.
Lindower Strasse 20
13347 Berlin Germany

Please register online in advance using the form below. Registration on-site is possible, capacity permitting.

Admission is free.

Kindly note that this event follows 2G+ rules. Please bring proof of vaccination as well as one of the following: a negative Covid test from the past 24 hours; proof of recovery from Covid; or proof of booster.

Wearing an FFP2 mask is mandatory inside the venue.

Menü
Die Residency ist aktiv
en /
[
DE
]
Podiumsdiskussion
Katharine Halls, Alia Mossallam und Edwin Nasr über Alaa Abd el-Fattah
Mittwoch, 27. April, 18:00

Am Mittwoch, den 27. April, laden wir Euch zu einem Gespräch zwischen der Wissenschaftlerin Alia Mossallam und Autor:in Edwin Nasr ein, das von der Übersetzerin und ehemaliger Callie’s Resident Katharine Halls moderiert wird. Die Podiumsgäste werden Alaa Abd el-Fattahs erste übersetzte Anthologie, You Have Not Yet Been Defeated: Selected Works 2011-2021, diskutieren.

You Have Not Yet Been Defeated versammelt Alaa Abd el-Fattahs Textedarunter Essays, Interviews und Beiträge in sozialen Medien, erstmalig in englischer Übersetzung. Alaa Abd el-Fattah wurde durch seine Texte und seinen Aktivismus während der ägyptischen Revolution von 2011 bekannt und ist der wohl hochrangingste politische Gefangene Ägyptens. Alaa verkörpert die Stimme einer Generation, die sich durch den Kampf gegen ein gescheitertes System definiert. In seinen Schriften schildert er prägnant die politischen Frontverläufe in einem Jahrzehnt des Umbruchs und entwirft gleichzeitig einen Aktionsplan für eine Revolution in unserem technokratischen Zeitalter. Die Podiumsdiskussion wird das revolutionäre Potenzial von Alaas Schriften und seinen anhaltenden Widerstand während seiner Inhaftierung untersuchen.

Alia Mossallam ist Postdoc-Stipendiatin der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung in Berlin. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt konzentriert sich auf die Frage, wie Geschichte, insbesondere die des Widerstands, durch das gesprochene und gesungene Wort und im weiteren Sinne durch die Volkssprache neu erfunden und umgeschrieben werden kann. In ihrer Doktorarbeit befasste sich Mossallam mit der Zeit zwischen 1956 und 1974, die von einschneidenden postkolonialen Konflikten geprägt war, und deren aktuellste Ausprägung: die arabisch-israelischen Kriege.

Edwin Nasr lebt als Autor:in und Kuturschaffende:r in Amsterdam und Berlin. Nasr’s jüngste Essays untersuchten Produktionsweisen des Kinos in der arabischen Region, geopolitische Aspekte von Bildproduktion sowie dekoloniale Praxis und Ästhetik. Edwin Nasr ist gegenwärtig Fellow bei De Appel in Amsterdam und kuratiert für das CCA Berlin. Nasrs Texte erschienen zuletzt in Afterall Journal, n+1, The Funambulist und Bidoun.

Katharine Halls ist Übersetzerin für Texte aus dem Arabischen ins Englische. Für ihre Übersetzung von Haytham El-Wardanys Things That Can’t Be Fixed erhielt sie 2021 den PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grant. Zusammen mit Adam Talib wurde Halls 2017 mit dem Sheikh Hamad Award for Translation für die Übersetzung von The Dove’s Necklace des saudischen Autors Raja Alem ausgezeichnet. Erfahren Sie mehr über Katharine Halls.

Mittwoch, 27. April, 18:00

Beia.p.
Lindower Strasse 20
13347 Berlin

Bitte melden Sie sich vorab online über das unten stehende Formular an. Eine Anmeldung vor Ort ist möglich, sofern die Kapazitäten ausreichen.

Diese Veranstaltung folgt den 2G+ Regeln. Bitte bring Deinen Impfpass sowie einen der folgenden Nachweise mit: einen negativen Covid-Test nicht älter als 24 Stunden, einen Genesenennachweis oder einen Nachweis der Auffrischungsimpfung.

Das Tragen einer FFP2-Maske am Veranstaltungsort ist verpflichtend.